Argus the Brazen

Contrary to what I said last week, you will still have to wait for a bit longer for that lavish feature showing my fully painted HeroQuest set, bot because I simply haven’t managed to take the required photos yet — but also this cheeky gentleman here just happened to jump the queue:

Indeed, it’s the FW World Eaters Dread I already shared with you a while ago and originally given to me as a gift by fellow hobbyist Augustus b’Raass.

Originally, I only really brought the Dreadnought along to one of my recent hobby sessions at my friend Annie’s place so I would have something to keep me occupied during the drying times for my HeroQuest furniture. But then I was able to complete the feet and base really quickly:

And why stop there, right? So this is what I had when I headed home that evening — on top of the painted HeroQuest stuff, no less! πŸ˜‰

And after that, it was mostly a matter of painting piece after piece. Dreadnoughts are rather enjoyable to work on in that it’s easy to paint one part after the other and assemble the model as you go.

One thing I definitely knew I wanted to feature was a stunning contrast between the red armour and a striking, blue-turquoise colour for the planet that is part of the World Eaters iconography adorning the Dreadnought’s sarcophagus:


The colour was achieved by basecoating the planets with a mix of Vallejo’s Magic Blue and Milenario Turquoise (always great for a bit of pop, those two!) and a drop of white. Then the entire area was washed with a mix of Drakenhof Nightshade and thinned-down Milenario Turquoise. And then I carefully drybrushed the area with white to just pick out the slightest bit of surface texture. Anyway, I am pretty happy with the way the area has come out on the finished body:

While we are on the technicalities, let me also give another shout out to the Dreadnought’s head, a brilliant little piece that I think is just a wonderful sculpt — and one that is unfortunately obscured quite a bit by the rest of the body:




I think there is something wonderfully menacing and gladiatorial about the design, and the cabling evokes the World Eaters’ Butcher’s Nails implants rather beautifully. And while the head doesn’t shine quite as much as it could on the finished model, it’s a good thing, then, that I have already used the design on several models, such as one of my 30k World Eaters Contemptors and, of course, on Worker #9:

Anyway, I soldiered on and was able to finish the entire body in fairly short order:


Which left we with only the arms left to paint — I gave special care to the right arm I had converted from plastic bitz (whereas the rest of the model is all resin), trying to make it look like a stock part of the Dreadnought. Here’s a picture from midway through the painting process:


In the end, things came together fairly quickly. So here, without further ado, is the 4th assault company’s newest member:

 

Argus the Brazen
XII Legion, 4th assault company









Gosh, it feels like it’s been ages since I have managed to paint a proper World Eaters model. And what’s more, I surely took my sweet time getting this model painted, seeing how Augustus gave it to me back in 2017!

But in my defense, I did want to do the Dread proper justice, especially since it was a gift, and I also needed to come up with a proper, modernised recipe for painting World Eaters that wasn’t just a lazy knock-off of my older, defunct World Eaters recipe. In fact, my new approach has ultimately evolved out of my work on my Imperial Knight and, more recently, the first of my Armiger Warglaives:

And to show you how my painting has – hopefully – evolved, here’s a comparison shot with Argus next to a Dreadnought using my old recipe — incidentally the first Dreadnought I ever painted, back in 2011 or so, Marax the Fallen:

While the photo – invariably, it seems, – eats up some of the finer points of my newer paintjob, I hope you’ll agree that my recipe has become a bit more sophisticated.

So yeah, I am pretty happy with the finished model. And of course, thanks must go, once again, to Augustus b’Raass for providing me with this lovely OOP model! Cheers, buddy! πŸ™‚

Oh, and after a bit of a dry spell on that account, this model also sees me rejoin Azazel’s regular community challenges, as I feel Argus just makes for a very fitting contribution for Azazel’s Mechanismo May challenge, wouldn’t you agree?

And with a proper new World Eaters recipe now sorted out, who knows: There may be even more chaos in the cards sooner rather than later. Just sayin’… πŸ˜‰

For now, however, I am pleased with having finished something suitably Khornate again! And I would love to hear any thoughts you might have, so feel free to leave a comment! And, as always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more! πŸ™‚

31 Responses to “Argus the Brazen”

  1. He’s superb! I really love your treatment of the giant legion icon on the chest. I have sometimes thought that the traditional blue & green planet on a red backdrop is, let’s just say, a very difficult thing to make look good. Opinions will vary. Anyway, I think you’ve come up with a very elegant solution that makes the most of the fine details on the model. Super job.

    • Cheers, mate! Yeah, I have always hated it when people actually paint the World Eaters symbol in blue AND green, because so often it just ends up looking tacky. Going mostly for one blue-turquoise tone seemed far more plausible to me, from a visual perspective.

  2. Wow, you’re on fire at the moment! I’m still trying to catch up on reading all the HeroQuest posts πŸ™‚ Great work on Argus (the kitbashed arm is especially fine – tying in seamlessly with the stock model) and glad to hear we might be seeing more Chaos from you soon.

  3. patrickwr Says:

    Great work! This was a delicious read because I am finishing up my own FW Dreadnought for my Night Lords. Those models are wonderful, and it’s heartbreaking that they’re OOP. Love the custom lascannon arm.

    • Fully agreed — much as I like the Helbrute models, it was nice to also have the option for something that looked more like a baroque, ancient, yet unmutated machine. Plus those sarcophagus designs for each of the traitor legions were truly lovely!

  4. They look fantastic- very imposing.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

  5. Mark Carter-Greaves Says:

    Very impressive piece of work. I like the blue for the planet, breaks up all that red.

  6. Blowjack Says:

    Love that old school dread look

  7. Brilliant execution mate – he’s a brutal looking thing, and it’s particularly lovely to see how your painting has evolved!

  8. Well, wow, the model is already an amazing one when unpainted, but you did a superb job in painting it. In all honestly, I thought a lot about your choice to leave the icon completely blue, somehow I was not so convinced at the beginning, but the result is so good, and it has become such an eye catcher, that I cannot but agree and make compliments for your choice πŸ™‚

  9. […] A blog about KrautScientist's wargaming exploits « Argus the Brazen […]

  10. Excellent work on the old-school World Eater/Berserker Dreadnought. The boxy beast looks a treat. Ypu’ve got me thinking now – I always felt that head looked just a little too big proportionate;y for the chassis – do you think the head would work well/better on a Contemptor (I have one, still unbuilt)

    • Actually, I have used it on a Contemptor, and it’s right there in the post, so you can check out for yourself whether or not you think it works — personally, I think it’s rather perfect for a Contemptor (or, for that matter, for a Kastelan conversion).

      • Derp! Of course, and I’ve seen and stared at both of those models int he past, too! Well, I guess I know where my own one of that head will be (pardon me) *heading*!
        I’ll just have to figure out a head to replace the original castreferum dread. You seem to be the man for WE conversion ideas – any suggestions? πŸ™‚

      • Hm…something involving the plastic Defiler face masks would be the obvious choice, seeing how the size is similar. The facemask from the Armiger kit would also be a good start. Or a juggernaut head? Or something involving a skull-shaped shoulder pad from the Bloodthirster or the plastic chaos knights? Just off the top of my head…

        One word of warning, however: Using the WE Castraferrum head on a Contemptor will involve shaving down most of the back of the head. It was an easy choice for me to make because I had …erm multiple copies, but it’s something you’ll need to think about — maybe it’s not worth it if you only have one of those heads…?!

  11. Wow looks awesome as always!

  12. […] World model – a Chaos Dreadnought of Khorne, now known as a Hellbrute. Given the moniker Argus the Brazen, he’s certainly an impressive looking […]

  13. […] the new model next to the World Eaters Dread and new berzerker test model I painted earlier this […]

  14. […] Thanks to a supply drop from my buddy Augustus b’Rass (which we’ll be getting to further down this post) back in February, I felt the itch to finally paint that World Eaters Dreadnought he kindly gave to me when I visited him in Amsterdam. So I finally completed Argus the Brazen: […]

  15. […] addition to “The Hateful Eight”, there’s Euron Hearteater, Brother Argus the Brazen (the FW World Eaters Dreadnought I got from my buddy Augustus b’Raass, and, of course,Β  […]

  16. […] probably originated in the fact that the first models I painted using this new approach, especially Argus the Brazen, had some rather large metallic […]

  17. […] starters, I have made an adjustment that I am pretty happy with to an older model of mine: “Argus the Brazen”, one of the now out-of-print World Eaters Castraferrum Dreadnoughts that were produced by […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.