Nurgle’s Rot revisited

Right, time for something finished for a change πŸ˜‰

You may recall that I posted a work in progress Nurgle Terminator some time ago. This is what we looked like when we last saw him:

Nurgle Termie (8)
In the meantime, I was taken by a fancy to actually finish this guy, so I put a bit more painting in.

All in all, the objective here was basically not only to get the model done (and have it look at least halfway presentable), but also to experiment will all kinds of rust and weathering effects and see whether I could make them work on a model. So I tried my hand at different effects for rusty metal, verdigris and just general signs of decay and decline. And here’s what I ended up with:

Nurgle Terminator (8)
Nurgle Terminator (1)
Nurgle Terminator (2)
Nurgle Terminator (5)

Nurgle Terminator (6)
Nurgle Terminator (7)
The model’s mutated right hand and strangely organic trophy spikes were painted in a slightly distressed flesh tone to contrast with the muddy green armour. And, as you can see, the different weathering effects on these guy did receive quite a bit more attention since the WIP stage: All the bronze areas were washed with a watered down mix of Vallejo Halcon Milenario Turquoise and white to achieve a verdigris effect. I also thinned down GW Vermin Brown, using it much like a slightly heavier wash in the recesses of the armour to build up a rust effect.

And I finally painted the model’s huge warscythe, adding the same weathering effects. With rusty metal like this, instead of painting everything silver and then suitably dirtying it, my usual approach is to paint the whole area in brown, then stipple on additional rust in a haphazard pattern, using a lighter shade of brown and only then add a small amount of actual metal colour to the edges and surfaces. Like so:

Nurgle Terminator (12)
You may also have noticed that I added a small OSL effect to the eye and the skull atop the scythe, trying to achieve a simple lighting effect similar to the one I use on plasma pistols and the like, only in a different colour.

In order to finish this guy, I also built and painted a base for him:

Nurgle Terminator (11)

While the base is similar enough to the bases of my World Eaters (you never know…), it also features the same disgusting ichor as the base of the Plague Champion I built earlier for my Ruinous Powers mini series:

The Ruinous Powers - Nurgle (22)
The fluid was done by covering a part of the base in a thick layer of wood glue, then wait for it to dry, creating a slightly muddy looking surface that was then painted in several shades of green and yellow and coated with gloss varnish.

All in all, this guy was both quite a bit of fun to pain and a great way of experimenting with different effects! Plus I learned that using different colours for undercoating can make painting quite a bit easier: I have sinced used brown spray paint for my first Orc test model as well, and it was definitely a good choice — but more on that soon…

Nurgle Terminator (10)
So while I am in no hurry to paint up a whole Nurgle army – or even just a unit of Plague Marines, for that matter, trying all kind of weathering techniques in this guy was a blast. And it’s nice to know that I now have a few more tricks up my sleeve πŸ˜‰

C&C always welcome! And, as always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

Nurgle Terminator (9)

10 Responses to “Nurgle’s Rot revisited”

  1. Lovely work πŸ™‚ I’m on with a squad of Plaguemarines at the moment, this I’d nice and inspiring πŸ™‚

  2. Simply stunning, the claw and helmet are my favorite parts. He’d make a great typhus. You really have a knack for creating natural looking conversions matched with superb paintjobs. I wish I had your flair!

  3. Craig Denham Says:

    It’s a shame your not thinking about starting a nurgle force because you have a very good eye for it.
    Seeing this model does nothing but confirm I should follow your rust recipe.

    Top job again.

    • Well, you know, I do have that one, mostly unpainted squad of Plague Marines…

      Seriously, though: That rust recipe is really quick and effective, if I do say so myself! Hope it’ll prove useful to you! πŸ˜‰

  4. […] You can learn more about this guys here and here. […]

  5. tobias Says:

    Odin’s beard those are well painted! I’m inspired! Do you base coat in brown or black from the start?

    Also do you use a lot of Vallejo paints or a mix of GW and vakkllejo?

    • Thanks, tobias! In this case, I went for a brown undercoat and worked from there. However, I have also experimented with first spraying Nurgle models with a black undercoat (GW Chaos Black) and then adding the brown over that, which also works really well!

      As for my paints, I am using a mix of GW and Vallejo. I’d say about 75% GW, 25% Vallejo Game Colour.

  6. An absolute bad arse

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.