#HeroQuest2019: A Christmas Carol…of Undead Sorcery

Hey everyone, so here is my Christmas post for this year, and right in time for the festivities, no less. And I have prepared something for you that is at least a little heartwarming, as is only right and proper for this season.

Furthermore, one of my first hobby activities this year has been to return to the very beginnings of my life as a hobbyist and paint some old HeroQuest models, so it seems only fitting that one of the year’s last posts should also deal with the very same game — so what is this about?

Speaking of HeroQuest, you may have seen how my biggest ongoing hobby project this year was to paint an entire HeroQuest set, and for once I actually managed to go through with it. Ye Olde Inn, a forum dedicated to all things HeroQuest, became an indispensable part of this project, so when the forum ran its annual “Ye Olde Inn Christmas Exchange”, it was clear to me that I really wanted to participate, both as a small way of giving something back to the community, but also because I like events like this, where everyone builds a model and sends it off to somebody else.

So I really wanted to do something cool for the exchange! And this ambition doubled when I learned that my model would go to fellow hobbyist Weltenlaeufer whom I was happy to advise on painting his own HeroQuest models throughout the year. Now he had told me multiple times that he really liked my models, and flattery will, of course, get you anywhere with me πŸ˜‰

But on a more serious note, this meant that there was a fairly good chance that he would like having a model built and painted by me in his collection — but I really wanted to give it my all and not just paint any old standard model (although “standard models” can be rather lovely when painted really well, as we will see later in this post).

Anyway, I reflected for a bit on what kind of model would be cool enough for this endeavour, and I settled on the closest thing the basic HeroQuest game system has to an arch-villain: The Witch Lord, as seen here painted by the great Les Edwards.

Illustration by Les Edwards

As I have already outlined before, I instantly fell in love with that illustration when I first saw it — enough so, in fact, that I used it as an inspiration when I finally built my own version of the Witch Lord earlier this year:

“So yeah, how about sending Weltenlaeufer a Witch Lord? That would certainly be cool!” But how would I go about building another one?

Fortunately enough, as outlined in my original Witch Lord post, I had come up with a plan for a plastic Witch Lord conversion as my original approach before later using an old Citadel metal model for the actual conversion. But I still felt that this recipe could work really well for the task I was facing now. The approach would look similar in nature to this renegade psyker I built a few years ago:

The basic combination of bitz at the heart of this approach – combining the legs of an Empire flagellant with a Skaven Stormvermin torso – makes for a slightly stooped and subtly sinister body that works for all kinds of villainous sorcerer types, Witch Lords included. But even though the basic idea was sound, it still took me a rather long while before I finally came up with a basic setup that worked:

Taking Les Edward’s illustration as my main point of reference once again, I tried to go for a model that would hit enough of the artwork’s visual cues to read as the Witch Lord, even if it didn’t reproduce every element from the artwork. I still tried to make it a rather close fit, though, and bitz from about ten different kits went into making the model look right, including a Skeleton warrior head, a ghoul hand, some Empire Knight feet and a Bloodletter mandible. By lucky chance, I tried the horns I got as a leftover piece from when I shaved horns off the new vanilla CSM helmets to replace them with Khornate helmet crests a while backΒ , and they really made the helmet work so much better.

Here’s the model just a bit later, glued together and with the necessary tweaks in place:





Up to this point, however, I still wasn’t entirely sure whether or not I was on to something. That changed after undercoating, though, when all the disparate parts really turned into something that looked reasonably closely like a HeroQuest model:




When painting my new Witch Lord conversion, I tried to basically recreate my earlier paintjob, with just a few minor tweaks here and there, and went for the classic triad of basecoats,…



…washes,…



…and higlights.

I spent quite a bit of time on that last part, obviously, to make sure the model would really work as a centre piece character.

So here’s my finished plastic Witch Lord:







I was really very happy with the outcome, as this felt like a worthy contribution to the Christmas exchange. And I do think the model holds up when placed next to my original Witch Lord model. Take a look:


I would be hard-pressed to decide which of these I like better. True, my original model is quite a bit flashier, on account of using a different base model, but the new version is actually much closer to the kind of model you would actually find in a HeroQuest set from back in the day (it is also, it has to be said, much easier to recreate for someone who wants to build their own Witch Lord, which is useful).

At the same time, I did my best to create a subtle connection between both models: They both use an identical palette and the weird avian skull on their respective staffs is also just the same. And they both – hopefully – match the piece of artwork that inspired them to begin with:

The new Witch Lord also looks pretty convincing next to some actual HeroQuest models, if you ask me:

So that was my model for Weltenlaeufer’s HeroQuest conversion done and dusted, right? Not quite, because I wasn’t finished yet:

I also wanted to make sure the packaging matched the style of the model, and seeing how the Witch Lord emerges his tomb, as represented by the little sarcophagus that comes in the HeroQuest set,…

I thought it would be really cool to incorporate this element in my package as well, so I used “Keramin”, a plaster like material that dries really fast and hard, in order to make a quick copy of the lid:


Talk about happy accidents: The casting process was actually not quite perfect, leading to some bubbles that marred the face of the reclining figure. But they actually ended up making the face look even more gaunt and undead, which was of course ideal in this case:


So I painted the copied lid up in suitably stony colours…


…and used it to add that certain je-ne-sais-quoi to Weltenlaeufer’s package, so upon opening it, he would find this:


A recreation of the Witch Lord’s tomb, to be opened by an intrepid (or foolish) adventurer to unleash an ancient horror upon the Old World…


Mission accomplished, at long last! So I packed it all up and sent it off to Poland towards the end of November, then spent a frantic week or so wondering whether the postal service would somehow manage to mess this up. They didn’t, however, so not only did my little Witch Lord arrive in time, but Weltenlaeufer also ended up really liking the model, by the looks of it:

Yay! πŸ™‚

Even better, actually: As if on cue, Weltenlaeufer had recently picked up a brand new set of brilliant tabletop catacombs from Dwarven Forge.

Here’s my, pardon his plastic Witch Lord surveying his new domain:




By the way, you can check out more of Weltenlaeufer’s very cool ongoing HeroQuest related work on his thread here.

So all’s well that ends well, right? Hah, we’re still not at the end! Because not only did I send off a model, I also received one in return: Last week, I received a package from fellow forumite Anderas, and out came this gnarly little gentleman here:


A wonderfully painted Orc — far neater than anything I have ever painted myself! This goes to show how my aversion to “standard models” was entirely misguided. The delightful little git has also managed to get his hands on a chaos warrior sword, it seems, and seems to be handling it very delicately, given that one protective glove πŸ˜‰

What’s probably the nicest bit here, however, is that the model also features some rather lovely painted on cobblestones:

Anyway, thanks a lot Anderas, and indeed all the fellow forumites from Ye Olde Inn, who have made this little event such a heartwarming affair! I urge you to check out the rest of the contributions — some very creative riffs on HeroQuest models can be found in the event thread.

And, of course, thank you to my readers and commenters! I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and hope you’ll be having a great holiday season!

I’ll be back later this month – if all goes well – with this year’s installment of the Eternal Hunt Awards, whatever that may look like. Until then, I would, of course, love to hear any thoughts you might have! And, as always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

19 Responses to “#HeroQuest2019: A Christmas Carol…of Undead Sorcery”

  1. the new witch-lord is absolutely outstanding!

  2. The witch lord in his new domain looks sooo awesome! Great job! And merry Xmas! Looking forward to our next painting session!
    Annie

  3. Beautifully done mate – the lid was a really nice touch!
    Have a good Christmas dude 😊

  4. oliver kemp Says:

    AHHHHHHHH!!!!! Thank you so much Stefan!!! You have no idea what it means to me to have an original β€œKrautscientist” in my collection after this whole year of buggin you with painting questions and trying to recreate your paintjobs for my minis! :):) I learned so much during this year and your painting tips helped me so much that now my minis all have a similar style! Thank you again for your patience with me πŸ™‚ Seeing all of this and how you went about just opens my heart even more! Silly me opened the box the wrong way so I saw your intended use of the tomb revealing the witchlord just now, what an epic lovely touch! I want to post a link to your post at the Inn as soon as the names are revealed, unless you want to post it at the Inn yourself!! Your whole process surely deserves a β€œwitchlord” thread!! It is so crazy, I even bought the old citadel figure a few months ago which you used for your first witchlord wanting to assemble my own witchlord like yours and then you send me this beautiful new selfcreated version for christmas! I am still blown away! Million thanks to you and I wish you and your family a wonderful christmas!! See you at the Inn! Oliver :):):)

    • Haha, seeing your reaction was really half the fun, mate! I am really happy to have come up with something that you like — the model looks amazing in its new domain! Also, yeah, I definitely want to post the recipe over at the Inn, I just want to give it a bit more time until everyone has reveiled their exchange models.

  5. Excellent stuff! You’ve got a definite knack of building and painting witch lords I think! Have a great Christmas! πŸ™‚

  6. Mojo-jojo Says:

    I’d never seen the 1st model. Both are really cool conversions that really do heroquest justice. Thank you for sharing.

  7. That’s a proper and heartwarming Christmas story, that’s for sure! And the new Witch Lord looks magnificent, just as the previous one. Really can’t say which one I like more. The hunched pose and the empty eye sockets make the new guy more sinister and ominous, which I really like.

    • Thanks a lot, mate! I think it’s really the best possible result with events like these if you actually hesitate to send your model away because you want to keep it, and this definitely almost happened this time πŸ˜‰

  8. That’s fantastic, what an excellent gift. You’ve done a cracking job there – and as you note it’s much easier for someone else to recreate than your original version, given that it’s made from readily available parts. Indeed, looking at it has given me a few ideas for how to fix my own current efforts to assemble a chaos sorcerer – so very well timed indeed! πŸ˜‰

    Shout out to Anderas for that orc as well, those painted on cobblestones are exquisite (I honestly had to peer at the photos to convince myself they weren’t 3d).

    Happy New Year mate!

    • Cheers, mate! Yeah, I think the conversion actually works well as a fairly reliable template for creating a plastic Witch Lord from currently available parts — or any stoopd evildoer, really πŸ˜‰

      Those cobblestones are quite something, aren’t they? πŸ˜‰

      Happy New Year to you, too! πŸ™‚

  9. […] of which, preparing a model of my own for the exchange was a very cool moment for me as well — the fact that Weltenlauefer, whom I sent the model […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.