A Short Knight, pt. 3: The Grand Finale

Welcome everyone to the third and final part of my recent Chibi-Knight project! This has been such a fun little endeavour, and today you finally get to take a look at the finished model, so here goes:

The paintjob for the actual Knight was actually just about finished last time. So here’s where we left off:

This only really left the basing, but since the objective with this entire model was to match the bigger version as closely as possible, I wanted this ethos to extend to the base as well. So for starters, check out the base of the bigger version of Gilgamesh:

As you can see, I used some pieces from the Space Marine statue from the Honoured Imperium terrain kit to represent fallen Imperial monuments, and I really wanted to recreate that look — and it seemed that fate was very much on my side…

I actually realised a long time ago that the aforementioned statue seems to have been created mostly by upscaling existing Space Marine bitz: If you take a closer look, many of the parts of the statue seem to consist of bigger versions of plastic bitz from the company champion that comes as part of the old Space Marine command squad box (incidentally, I am pretty sure the statue’s cape is an upscaled chaos warrior cape, but that’s beside the point). And I actually discovered a while ago that GW used a face very similar – if not identical – to the statue’s face for different kits as well. So it didn’t take much work to collect the pieces that would allow for a very close recreation of my original design for the base. Take a look:

The shield on the left is pretty much the exact same shield also worn by the Honoured Imperium statue. It came from the aforementioned Space Marine command squad kit. The sword is from a plastic Terminator — I’ll admit the company champion’s sword would have been a better fit from a visual standpoint, but the Terminator sword worked better due to its size and proportions. And the head on the right is a piece of a broken Imperial monument from the WFB/AoS giant.

So I used these parts (or rather, copies of these parts) to create a setup that was fairly similar to the original base:

Now I had to improvise a bit, due to the bigger Knight’s base having an oval shape (and hence more room), but I think the setup worked out pretty well. I also chose to have the head in an upright pose this time around — something I should have done on the bigger base as well.

So here’s the base after undercoating…

…and with the Knight provisionally placed on top:

And here’s the finished base, painted to fit the bigger version:

So all that was left was to affix the new Chibi-Gilgamesh to his new home, and then the model was done. So here, once again, the big version for the sake of comparison:

And without further ado, I give you

Chibi-Gilgamesh version 2.0









I am actually really happy with the way the model has turned out. I may have had to compromise a bit here and there because a couple of visual touches from the bigger model just couldn’t be reproduced at the smaller scale (at least not without ending up looking extremely goofy, that is), but you can still tell at a glance that this is supposed to be Gilgamesh at a smaller scale, wouldn’t you agree?

And there’s also my favourite part about this project, the somewhat harebrained, yet ultimately successful, scheme of adding a fully sculpted interior and pilot to a Knight at the Adeptus Titanicus scale. Check out the bigger version of Baron Harrowthorne again:


And here’s the chibi-version:




And now that the new model has been finished, here’s another comparison shot with its predecessor:


As I’ve said before, I really like how the older Chibi-Knight seems to represent the somewhat clunkier vintage Epic 40k design, while the new model fits the sleeker, more faithful designs from the new Adeptus Titanicus.

That’s not quite all, though. Because with the model finished, it was of course time to trot out the actual 28mm Gilgamesh in order to find out how well the new Chibi-Knight stands up to the big guy.

well,…



I think there’s definitely quite a bit of family resemblance, wouldn’t you agree?

Having managed to closely recreate the base also makes me stupidly happy, to be honest 😉

So yeah, a fun project all around! And you know what? I am also going to pledge this little guy as part of Azazel’s Mechanical November ’18 community challenge — fits well enough, I’d say 😉

In any case, it goes without saying that I would love to hear any feedback you might have! And, as always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more! 🙂

27 Responses to “A Short Knight, pt. 3: The Grand Finale”

  1. Pandoras Bitz Box Says:

    This is an staggering and amusingly accurate portrayal of he original Knight for your Adeptus Titanicus Chibi-knight. Very very cool. Your also setting quite the bar for the standard in Azazels most recent challenge, esspecially since I was also hoping to complete my own Ad Mech right for it. Well done, I hope your pleased with the result because it’s without a doubt an impressive effort. Do you have or intend to have any larger world eater Titans that you could/would replicate for Adeptus Titanicus or was this a one off to try it out just because you could?

    • Cheers, mate! I would like to have an AT representation of Syrgalah, the Ember Queen, the lead (Warhound) Titan from the Legio Audax at one point. And that recently announced Battle Reaver is also rather lovely. That being said, I am not seeing myself getting into Adeptus Titanicus in any big way, at least not at the moment.

      • Pandoras Bitz Box Says:

        I’m not terribly drawn to Adeptus Titanicus… Not just because no one in know is playing it, but it just seems like a more affordable way to own versions of those cool models. To me one of the draws of a Titan is how it looms over everything, a cool example of the extent that denizens of the far future will go to in order to control their future.

        Without the other minis… The Titans in AT just seem like Dreadnoughts running through a model village to me.

      • Pandoras Bitz Box Says:

        Oh actually, that would be cool… If there’s any chance for you to post a group shot of your finished World Eaters walkers together?

  2. Awesome work, my friend. Though I do feel like you should shave the lip off that awesome base (or maybe photoshop it) and find out if people can pick out that it’s an AT-scale knight and not a full-sized one! 🤔 I think you’d be pleasantly surprised.

    • Haha, cheers! There are a few telltale signs that will always tell you you’re looking at an AT scaled model, but I still appreciate your compliment!

      • Well, there are – but you know where to look and what to look for… a layman, or someone not intimately familiar with either knight kit on the other hand…

  3. A really lovely piece of work and an excellent project.

  4. That’s brilliant! Really well done.

  5. great work on the base,too! I thought you were going to use a bald SM sergeant’s head, but this is even better!

    • A bald Marine head would certainly have been the next best thing — but then I realise that little statue head shared the exact same facial features with the bigger statue, and that basically settled it 😉

  6. Inquisitor Mikhailovich Says:

    Are any of us surprised that this is perfect? No, no we are not.

  7. That is really great.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

  8. I actually started yelling at my screen when I saw this. HOW? HOW did you pull this off so perfectly? Jesus dude this is above and beyond, even for you. I am in total awe of this.

  9. […] A blog about KrautScientist's wargaming exploits « A Short Knight, pt. 3: The Grand Finale […]

  10. […] the Eternal Hunt completed an extensive conversion of an Imperial Knight, turning it renegade and recreating GIlgamesh, the Renegade Knight that was completed back at the […]

  11. […] To discover more (occasionally tiny) details about this projects, check out my posts on Chibi-Gilgamesh 2.0 here, here and here. […]

  12. […] It doesn’t show up in the picture above, but everyone who has already worked on a Rhino model will be aware that there’s a tantalisingly huge bit of empty space where the driver’s compartment of the APC should be. And if you have been following my blog for a while, you may remember that I’ve developed a bit of a thing for adding cockpits to models. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.