Big guns never tire, pt. 2

Another upate on my World Eaters related projects today, because the last weekend has been spent happily kitbashing away at various evil, spiky and bloodthirsty things 😉

First up, an update on the big guy: Since I first posted my WIP “Thamier pattern” Obliterator, I have spent some more time working on the model, cleaning up the conversion and preparing the model for painting:

Here’s what the Obliterator looked like before:

Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_WIP (12)
Since this picture was taken, I have added another round of spiky bitz, worked a bit on the right foot in order to make it look more natural and plugged all remaining holes and crevices with GS. So here’s the model, pretty much ready for a last bubble bath and then some paint:

Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_WIP (18)
Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_WIP (19)
Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_WIP (20)
Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_WIP (21)
Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_WIP (22)
Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_WIP (23)
I also realised that the model needed something to clearly show its allegiance to Khorne, but regular bunny ears were right out due to a lack of space around the collar. So I improvised, using an icon of Khorne instead (an idea stolen from the ever inspirational Wayde Pryce). I also tried yet another head, although I might actually like this one the best so far: It just has a subtly feral quality that I think really fits the bill.

All in all, I am really pleased with this conversion, and I hope that the paintjob will turn the model into a truly awesome piece — now to work up the motivation to actually get painting…

 

The big guy was not my only project, though: Working on that Helbrute rocket launcher also gave me the motivation to try something I had been thinking about for quite a while: Building an Ursus Claw for my Chaos Helbrute(s).

For those not in the know, an Ursus Claw is a weapons system typical of the World Eaters Legion: It is effectively a harpoon that can be fired at an opponent (preferredly a retreating one), in order to impale him, possibly already creating critical damage, and then reel him back in for the finale. The World Eaters used this weapon system both on their flagship, the Conqueror and on the allied Titans of the Legio Audax, so I thought arming a World Eaters Dreadnought with one of those systems probably wasn’t all that unrealistic. More on the Ursus Claw here, in case you are interested.

Now when I started planning this conversion, I looked around for inspiration and found this image, nestled away deep within my inspiration folder. Unfortunately, the original source has been lost, and I have been unable to retrieve it, so if you recognise your work, definitely let me know!

EDIT: The mystery has been solved: The picture below came from fellow hobbyist sheep. Check out his amazing Khornate models on his blog. Thanks a lot, sheep, for coming forward!

conversion by sheep

conversion by sheep

The picture actually provided a perfect starting point for my conversion: The psy-weapon CC arm from the Furioso Dreadnought kit. And since Marax the Fallen had been converted from that very kit, I still happened to have the arm in my bitzbox.

The second piece of inspiration came from Forgeworld’s Blood Slaughterer Impaler, because that model is, for all intents and purposes, armed with an Ursus Claw as well. Take a look:

image by Forgeworld

image by Forgeworld

The weapon gave me a pretty good idea for building the chain winch that makes for the truly nasty part of the weapon, allowing the harpoon to be reeled back in.

So with those two ideas in my head and a couple of bitz on my table, I got to work.

And here’s my own WIP Ursus Claw, already provisionally mounted on my model for Marax the Fallen:

Ursus Claw WIP (7)

Ursus Claw WIP (3)

Ursus Claw WIP (4)
As you can see, the arm is pretty much the stock bit, whereas the harpoon mechanism is a combination of the two sources cited above. I fortunately had a perfect chain winch bit from some Ogre Kingdoms kit in my bitzbox, and it was ideal for this conversion. The chain came from another Ogre kit. The housing for the winch is a shaved down part of a Predator Lascannon turret weapon. And, to make things suitably chaotic and to tie in the weapon with the look and feel of my army, the housing was decorated using two Chaos Marauder shields.

Here’s the weapon arm on its own:

Ursus Claw WIP (8)
One thing I kept going back and forth on is the actual harpoon, because I wasn’t sure whether it needed to be more ostentatious and/or claw like, like the one on the Blood Slaughterer. In the end, though, I decided that a more clawlike appearance would mean that it would be harder to actually recognise the weapon as a harpoon constructed to be launched at the enemy, so I stuck with the simpler design — what do you think?

Ursus Claw WIP (5)
Anyway, once this Ursus Claw and the kitbashed rocket launcher arm are painted, I will have a pretty exhaustive collection of Dreadnought/Helbrute weapons — as a matter of fact, I built this last arm mostly for fun anyway, rather than for added tactical flexibility. Still, I think it’ a fairly cool option for featuring an element from the World Eaters’ recent fluff in my army!

 

And finally, one last model to show you: A rather simple kitbash at that, but one I am still rather happy with.

When I picked up my brand new Dark Vengeance boxed set, back when 6th edition hit, I realised the nose of the Chosen champ had been flattened a bit by the sprue of stuff lying above it in the box. So I have wanted to “repair” the model for a long time now. So during an idle hour, I carefully cut off the head and replaced it with one from the FW Space Marine Praetor. I also replaced the maul with a sword, while I was at it. Tale a look:

Chosen Champ WIP
Both the head and maul were kept intact as much as possible during the cutting, and both will be used on further conversions. As it happens, the head was used on the kitbashed INQ28 Navigator I showed you recently. I think the flattened nose could be explained away as yet another manifestation of the Navigator’s physcial deformity.

Fellow hobbyist dantay_XV pointed out that the model’s calm stare and raised sword worked together quite well, making it look like he was just about to swing the sword forward and give his warriors the command to unleash hell. That was exactly the intended effect, as a matter of fact, and I think that this model will eventually be the Huntmaster in command of the 4th assault company’s Havocs (Teeth of Khorne, in the old fluff), so the pose works doubly well, if you ask me.

 

So yeah, so much for the World Eaters side of things. As always, let me know what you think — and look forward to some more INQ28 madness pretty soon.

And, of course, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

17 Responses to “Big guns never tire, pt. 2”

  1. Hi mate, great work as always 🙂

    Also I’ll put my hand up, that converted dred arm is mine, from my Khorne-angels list of a few years ago.

    http://sheepsforlornhope.blogspot.com.au/search/label/Khorne

    I used mine as magna grapples, drop pod in and drag a LR over and punch it, worked half the time and was fun as hell 😀

    Glad it could inspire you and heres a link to all the khorne articles on my blog for anyone interested.

    http://sheepsforlornhope.blogspot.com.au/search/label/Khorne

    • Thanks a lot for the clarification, mate! I have updated the post accordingly 😉

      Also, those are some stunning World Eaters on your blog, and they’ve been part of my inspirations folder for quite a while as well 😉

  2. Excellent series and progress. Your bitz box must be impressive 🙂

  3. Fantastic work, as usual! 🙂

  4. greggles Says:

    Your blog is quickly becoming one of my favorites! Keep up the great work!

  5. Great work on the obliterators mate! And the impaler looks brutal! By the way your choosen champ looks like my slaanesh one seen on the ammo… Glad to see we both have the same idea for weapon replacement!

    • Cheers, mate! You’re quite right — I should have realised where the inspiration for that weapon replacement came from 😉

      That Slaaneshi warband of yours was full of neat conversions, by the way: I suppose it was also lost in the deluge?

  6. I’m reworkin’ on… Soon they’ll respawn.

  7. Hi there,
    i really like the stuff you are doing and come by every couple of days to check for new stuff.

    The impaler gun looks almost perfect. I say almost because i think that it won´t work properly. Because the chain is attached at the end of the spear, it has to go through the gun when shot. So the gun will loose power and range, because of the slowing down due to the friction.

    Long text short, i think it would be more convincing if the chain would be attached somewhere between the impaler spike and the entrypoint into the gunarm itself.

    hrld

    • Cheers, man!

      I’ll gladly admit that my knowledge when it comes to mechanic devices is fairly limited, and after agonising over how best to build the Ursus Claw, in the end I just thought “Screw it!” and built it in a way that seemed cool to me. So real world physics were really not the most important consideration here 😉

      However, it has been pointed out to me my several hobbyists that my version may not be all that implausible after all: While the chain running through the weapon will negatively impact the power and range, it is also pretty much the only way for the weapon to be reloaded after making a kill without a support crew — and let’s face it: Who would be prepared to serve as support crew to a World Eaters Dreadnought? 😉

      • Yeah, that might be a dangerous job.
        On the other side, ist would be a cool conversion possibility to have some retainers for every dread, just like techadepts, to keep them running. But if they would survive a battle longer than a few minutes? Thats another story….

        Talking about “would it work or not work” or “how will it work” is always a bit diffcult, especially if a fantastic game is the subject.
        I don´t manage this on all of my models, but sometimes i find a good solution of how it might work, and so i try to incorporate that into my model.
        This just adds a little bit of realism to a model.

        hrld

  8. […] was originally built quite a while ago (drawing some inspiration from a similar conversion by fellow hobbyist sheep) as an additional CC […]

  9. […] originally this arm was built allll the way back in 2014, originally to be used on one of my 40k Dreadnoughts. I wanted a miniature version of the […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.