Big guns never tire, pt. 3

Maybe this should actually rather be part 2.5 of this mini-series, but I am pretty hard at work on the converted Obliterator at the moment, and I thought it would be cool to just show you the model’s current status:

Here’s the – mostly finished – body:

Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_PIP (1)
Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_PIP (2)
I was initially slightly apprehensive about the slightly rubbery texture of the resin thamier used for casting the parts, as I feared the material might be problematic to paint. It turned out that my worries were entirely unfounded, though — in fact I was pleasantly surprised with painting thamier’s custom parts: They accepted the colour without a hitch and were really almost as easy to paint as stock GW parts.

In any case, I was happy enough with the result to immediately start working on the arms as well, so here’s the model as it looks like right now, with both arms attached:

Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_PIP (5)
Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_PIP (4)
Thamier_pattern_Obliterator_PIP (6)
The model’s still missing its shoulder pads, base and a ton of finishing touches, of course, but I am enormously pleased with it so far. So I thought I’d just share my progress. Expect to see the finished Obliterator rather soon πŸ˜‰

Anyway, let me know what you think! And, as always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

4 Responses to “Big guns never tire, pt. 3”

  1. greggles Says:

    Model looks good. I like the red, though I feel it could use a bit more highlight. It’s got good shade on the edges, but seems to be a bit flat in tone in some sections. (could be photos as well)

    Don’t know where you are in terms of the competition of the paint, or what your final goal is (in terms of brightness/grime), just wanted to mention that!

    • Cheers, greggles! While there are quite a few smaller touches I would yet like to add to the model, the main consideration is to bring it in line visually with the rest of my army, so don’t be disappointed if the final result doesn’t look that spectacularly different from this WIP. I’m just lazy, is all πŸ˜‰

  2. MadHatter Says:

    I really like the bulked up look, definitely makes an intimidating figure

Leave a Reply

