The Ruinous Powers – Preface

Welcome, dear readers to a week of chaos and corruption here on Eternal Hunt! The ruinous powers draw near, and their dark majesty has warped and sanctified the pages of this blog. But I am getting ahead of myself, all in due time:

Well, it has been a hell of a ride for us chaos players, hasn’t it? But now, the new codex is finally upon us. I already outlined my …mixed feelings about the whole affair, but I am still looking forward to the new book — if only because it will serve to shake things up a bit.

The last days have been up of ups and downs: The first batch of leaked photos showing the new chaos releases left me rather unimpressed and wondering weather my beloved Chaos Space Marines had, as it were, jumped the shark. But as the pictures got less blurry, quite a few of my fears were alleviated along the way.

As it stands, the new release has some great stuff (I love the plastic Raptors, the Fiends are at least very interesting and the Finecast models are quite pretty, albeit not all that immediately useful to me) and some less impressive stuff (the Heldrake is simply not for me, the new CC obliterators look just as horrible as their older kin, the new sorceror is visually inferior to the models from the 90s if you ask me, and it is a little disappointing that GW hasn’t – yet – seen fit to redesign any of the special characters). But all in all, it looks like GW wants to make some rather bold creative decisions, and I am all for that. And while it remains to be seen whether the rules and fluff live up to my expectations, Phil Kelly has yet to disappoint me in any way — plus some of his designer’s notes in the new WD sound quite promising.

So while these are tumultuous times for worshippers of the dark gods, we should also rejoice! And what better way to celebrate than a little modelling extravaganza pledged to the Ruinous Powers?

In the next four days, I will show you four champions of those powers: One for each dark god. Each of them was specifically built and painted for this occasion, so no rehashes! I will also provide a short background for each of the models, but instead of tall tales of the respective champions’ exploits, I will try to capture the essence of the character and – by extension – the power he serves in just a few lines. There’s some edgy high concept stuff for you 😉

So join me on this celebration of the dark gods and look forward to making the acquaintance of four distinguished individuals. And tell me what you think in the comments section!

Tomorrow on “The Ruinous Powers”: Decay.

Until then, as always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

2 Responses to “The Ruinous Powers – Preface”

  1. […] Preface Part I: Decay Part II: Duplicity Part III: Hedonism Part IV: Wrath Part V: Synthesis […]

  2. […] more about his project here, in case you are […]

Leave a Reply

