Old stuff day 2013: Another chance for chaos

oldstuffdayfullsize

Hey everyone,

just a quick post: Seeing how it’s Old Stuff Day today, I had a look through my backlog in order to find out whether there was anything that I wish would have made more of a splash back when it was posted.

All in all, the interwebz have been very good to me during my first year of blogging, with many people looking at my stuff and quite a few comments to boot. I am content. Yet there is one series of posts that I think deserves a second chance: My “Ruinous Powers” miniseries, posted late last September, in celebration of the new Codex: Chaos Space Marine release. Unfortunately, the series didn’t elicit much of a response, which is why it’s certainly on my short list for Old Stuff Day.

I am very proud of both the models as well as the small background vignettes for them I came up with, so if you want to do me a favour or celebrate Old Stuff Day (or both), head on over there and give them another look:

 

The Ruinous Powers

Preface
Part I: Decay
Part II: Duplicity
Part III: Hedonism
Part IV: Wrath
Part V: Synthesis

The Ruinous Powers - Synthesis (1)
Have a great weekend, everyone! And, as always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

11 Responses to “Old stuff day 2013: Another chance for chaos”

  1. killer conversions!!!

  2. Alexander Says:

    That was a really interesting serie of villains.
    I’ll comment from least to most inspiring.

    4. Son of despair. Papa Nurgles boy has nice touches, the emancipated look is better than the normal fatties. But something is lacking when compared to the others. Maybe he’s a bit too plain?

    3. The brass hound. Funny that your chosen god wasn’t your best work. Familiarity breeds contempt perhaps 😉 the head is definitley the best part, very old school.

    2. Slaaneshi perfection. Good choice to go that way. I always liked slaanesh in a cenobite way, hellraiser series. The different parts click together to create a stunning traitor.

    1. Corruptor of the paths. so you have never made a tzeentchian before and he ends up being the best. Good use of bits and a stunning paint job. Excellence!

    It was a fun series to follow and I’m happy you chose to republish it!

    • Cheers, mate! Thanks for commenting! It’s interesting to see that your opinion on these models pretty closely resembles my own: If pressed, I would maybe say I like the Slaaneshi guy even better than the sorcerer. Even so, the Death Guard legionnaire is indeed the weakest of the bunch (being the first one I built), and the World Eater is probably suffering from the fact that I used most of my really spectacular ideas on the other models in my army.

      • Alexander Says:

        The slaanesh scum is the better conversion with smart use of different parts. But the glow effect and overall feel of the tzeentchian gives him the edge.

        It looks a bit like you found your groove after the nurglite and you are right that the world eaters had used the best ideas.

  3. Craig Denham Says:

    How did you get that lovely dark metal/rust effect on the plague marines axe?

    • My particular recipe for painting rusty metal like that is to first paint the entire area in a brown colour (GW Scorched Brown, in this case), then stiple on additional rust in a lighter shade of brown (GW Vermin Brown), and only then pick out the edges and add additional scratches using a silver colour. This particular axe blade lend itself really well to that technique, since it already had all those holes and nicks.

      Anyway, it’s a really easy effect that also works rather nicely on armour trim!

      Hope this helps! 🙂

      • Craig Denham Says:

        This might work out well thanks again man. I’m planing on using in for the sanguinary guard wings and like you said the trim on shoulder pads etc.

      • Glad to be of help! Oh, and if you want to use it for the wings, here’s another tip for you: Thin down a reddish brown (I use GW Vermin Brown) with water until it’s only slightly heavier than a wash, then add that to all the recesses (the wings have lots of these). Once the watery part has dried, the red brown will stay behind in the gaps, leaving you with a pretty cool rust effect.

  4. Fantastic stuff, one and all. Glad to see people are keeping Old Stuff Day alive, and getting some attention to high quality posts that might have slipped through the cracks.

Leave a Reply

