The Ruinous Powers: Decay

Let us start our exploration of the Ruinous Powers by that force so common to all worlds and universes: Decay.

I know of very few chaos players who have not, at some point, flirted with the idea of converting a model or two pledged to Nurgle. And rightly so: Many chaos players are avid converters, and Nurgle is perhaps the most evocative god when it comes to creating truly unique, disturbing models (if you don’t agree with that assessment, may I kindly ask you to head over to Dakka and check out GuitaRasmus’s thread. On second thought, you should probably do that in any case).

Right, where were we? Oh yes, Nurgle. When I think of Nurgle in 40k, I think of the Death Guard: Disease-ridden monsters in rusty, dilapidated plate, bursting with poison and corruption and eternally spreading their taint across the galaxy. So with that in mind, I dove headfirst into my bitzbox in order to create a champion worthy of great Nurgle. Here’s the result:





As you can see, the model eschews the classic “bloated” Nurgle look for something more skeletal and emaciated. That’s because I had recently converted two WFB Nurgle Lords (you can see one of them here) and I now wanted to focus on a slightly different aspect of sickness: I wanted my champion to look wizened and spent. I also couldn’t resist using a bare head to further show the model’s own decay. A WFB Zombie head, combined with a rebreather from the Cadian Command squad, perfectly fit the bill.

Oh, and I gave the model a nasty looking axe, spliced together from the leftover axe blade of the aforementioned WFB Nurgle Lord and half of the the shaft of a Chaos Knight’s lance. I also added some additional bitz and bobs for decoration.

When painting the model, I went for the classic, muddy green servants of Nurgle are so often seen wearing. I also wanted to contrast it with rusted and corroded metal trim and all kinds of verdigris. But that came later. Here’s the model with just the base colours:



For some reason, I decided to paint the champion’s left shoulder pad in a vile yellow. Perhaps to make it even more disgusting?

Anyway, the true fun started once the washes had dried. I spent quite some time on the weathering, adding rust and verdigris.
And then I was done. Take a look:





As you can see, I also added an incense burner to the model’s hip. In my imagination, the thing is emitting a horrible miasma, corrupting the very air around the Marine. Oh, and I used a little Tamiya Clear Red on the strange spine breaking through the backpack I took from the Possessed kit for that little bit of extra repulsiveness.

In addition to the models themselves, I also wanted to include a little visual flourish on each of these guys’ respective base. While the overall basing scheme would be the same as the one I use for my World Eaters, each base would get a little “special effect” that would further tie it together with the respective dark god.

In this case, the champion I standing across a rivulet of vile ichor, in wich a skull is resting, half submerged. I created the fluid with wood glue, painted it in a nasty yellow-green, washed it with Agrax Earthshade and added closs varnish on top. Eww…

And with that, the model was complete. All that remained was to create a few lines that would supply a background vignette for the Marine. So let me present the champion of Nurgle, servant of decay:


Brother Malchius Blight, of the Death Guard Traitor Legion

He chuckles at the pinpricks of their fire
Like gnats, for all the harm they do
He cuts them open then, his axe
Pitted and scarred, but oh so sharp.
Their death is quick and merciful.
Unlike his own, millennia in the making.

Oh, how he envies them.


As usual, thanks for looking and tay tuned for more!

6 Responses to “The Ruinous Powers: Decay”

  1. Morbious and Mortarion Says:

    Very nice work!! I’m loving these models and your conversions. Your painting skills are superb too, have you tried your models in GD? Anyway I have been inspired by some of your work and made a daemon prince of nurgle. When I can figure out how to upload a photo, I will show you. Again nice work!!

    • Thanks a lot, man! I really appreciate your kind words! I’m not so sure about GD though — I guess my models wouldn’t even make it to within shouting distance of first cut. I’m far too much of a pragmatist when it comes to painting 😉

      Be sure to post a link to your stuff! I’d be interested to have a look!

  2. […] Part I: Decay Part II: Duplicity Part III: Hedonism Part IV: Wrath Part V: […]

  3. That is awesome what was the other part you used for the scythe?

    • Dominic Says:

      The huge axe head is from Nurgle Chaos Lord in GW warhammer fantasy. It is an amazing model for a 40k conversions.

Leave a Reply

