More traitors!

Today’s update consists of nothing more clever than showing you my next batch of traitors. One box of Cadians and Chaos Marauders each gave me enough parts to build the Platoon Command Squad as well as two squads of traitors. Once again, I wanted the squad’s loyalist origins to show thorugh while also leaving no doubt as to their current allegiance. Here they are:


I think the squad has a nice mixture of standard Imperial and more primitive elements. Some of the soldiers look quite a lot like loyalists (the chap on the right, for example), while others are channeling a more barabarian vibe. I also added an icon bearer, because I am of the opinion that every squad in every Chaos force needs an icon, if only for flavour. As you can see, the squad also has a traitor carrying a flamer.

Once again, the models were kitbashed from Cadians, Chaos Marauders, Marauder Horsemen, Warriors of Chaos and the odd Chaos Space marine part. As you can see, the Marauder and Cadian parts fit together rather nicely, allowing for a lot of customisation options. From a WYSIWYG perspective, the squad’s equipment seems rather hodgepodge. But then, it certainly adds some flavour to the unit. It also means that they can be used with different weapon loadouts depending on the army list I use for them — and the fact that they are not strictly WYSIWYG shouldn’t be a problem for the most part, as long as my opponent knows in advance what he’s up against.

And finally, let’s have a look at some detail shots of the squad leader:


The head from the Marauder Horsemen kit gives this guy an almost Viking vibe. It also looks like he also salvaged some Marine armour parts from the battle field. The fact that he uses it to on his arms while his torso remains pretty much unprotected shows that this armour is worn for decoration almost as much as for protection. Looking at him now, I also realise that is sword is not entirely straight, but I guess I’ll have to live with it now…


There’s one more squad of the same size where these came from, although I have yet to paint it. I have also begun looking at options of giving these guys some kind of transport, though I will probably eschew the classic option of using a converted Chimera in favour of a more “creative” approach. I am also not that big on tanks, so don’t expect this turning into a heavily mechanised army anytime soon…

And with that, my next batch of traitors is complete. As always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

8 Responses to “More traitors!”

  1. Cameron Says:

    Nice. I really like the muted colour scheme.

    • Thanks, Cameron! You know, it took me ages to decide on that colour scheme! As a Chaos player, it’s very easy to always default back to certain colours, but I wanted these guys to look like they were actually soldiers, with only a dash of Chaos here and there 😉

  2. Very nice! Love the Marauders bits for chaos-ing up 40k minis. I used a bunch on my World Eaters, and they look great combined with the Cadian bits you used. They definitely look savage – Keep up the great work!

  3. Congrats on making my weekly themed top-x. Hope you don’t mind the shout out.

  4. Love all your traitors. I’m taking notes too!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.