Imperial Knights: Renegade — Gilgamesh Triumphant!

A short interlude today, before I return with a more sizeable new post soon: With the release of Imperial Knights: Renegade, Chaos Knights are now very much a thing, even for those who shun the rules by Forgeworld (that have already been available for some time now). Due to the strange ways of the webway, I am pretty certain that the new rules will find their way to each and every Chaos player in pretty short order, and there is much rejoicing about this turn of events.

What makes this even better though, at least for me, is that my very own Chaos Knight, Gilgamesh, has actually made it into GW’s daily blog as one of the examples for converted Renegade Knights. Yay!

Gilgamesh on GW blog 01
Now I should probably be far more nonchalant and humble about this whole thing, but I simply cannot pull it off: Gilgamesh remains my biggest and most involved hobby project to date, and one that I am incredibly proud of, so to see him being featured on the GW site like this just makes me incredibly happy! Thanks so much to all the fellow hobbyists who brought this to my attention. And to the content managers at GW, obviously πŸ˜‰

But this post should have some kind of use beyond allowing me to talk about how great I think I am, right? πŸ˜‰
So, to all those of you who are now looking at the option of adding a Knight or two to their Chaos armiesΒ with renewed interest, on account of the new rules, maybe my collected posts about converting and painting my own Chaos Knight may prove helpful, so feel free to check them out here:

PRELUDE

– THE BUILDING –

PART I
PART II
PART III

– THE PAINTING –

PART I
PART II
PART III
PART IV
PART V

Also make sure to take a peek at this companion post over at Dark Future Gaming, where I discuss some of the excellent conversions that have inspired my own take on the Chaos Knight, because I am really standing on the shoulders of giants here!

The only cloud on the horizon here is how the ‘Eavy Metal Team seemingly didn’t convert and paint a dedicated posterboy Renegade Knight for the new game but rsther decided to paint over the heraldry of an already completed, pretty sweet loyalist model:

ImperialKnightRenegadeSeriously, guys: You have already painted a score of these beasts. Would one more really have killed you…?

But all in all, this has been an amazing surprise, both from a general hobby perspective, but also for my personal hobby life!

As always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more! πŸ™‚

Chaos Knight Gilgamesh, the Warrior King (12)

29 Responses to “Imperial Knights: Renegade — Gilgamesh Triumphant!”

  1. Congratulations on making the GW blog. It’s good to see all that hard work rewarded.

  2. wow! congrats mate! I will be building and painting a (couple) knight(s) myself for a friends’ khorne daemonkin army.

  3. Welle done and well deserved

  4. Yey! And well deserved mate. That is spooky though – I had Gilgamesh in mind just this weekend! (I pinched your bloody handprint idea for some scenery πŸ˜‰)

  5. David Valentine Says:

    UBER Kudos, sir! You deserved this!

  6. Well done mate –well deserved recognition for an excellent model!

  7. Well done on the feature! I imagine the reason they didn’t convert the model is because they have to represent the contents of the box.

    • That is indeed a very sound theory, although why didn’t they just go and paint an entirely new model? Or they could just have thrown one of those ancient chaos vehicle sprues into the mix — I don’t think GW would be losing that much money on those old bitz πŸ˜‰

  8. Congrats, man! πŸ˜€

  9. Congratulations! The feature is well deserved πŸ™‚

  10. greggles Says:

    Many congrats! Such a beautiful piece.

  11. Well done Kraut! I was really happy to see your big robot on the highlights! Well deserved indeed!

  12. That’s awesome! Congrats man – that has long been one of my favorites of your creations, and it’s definitely fitting that it gets more attention. Nicely done!

    • Thanks a lot, mate! To be fair, building and painting the model was ultimately a load of fun, so being rewarded for something that I enjoyed now seems like a huge bonus, actually πŸ˜‰

  13. […] most noticeable addition to the army is the towering form of Gilgamesh, my converted Chaos Knight, now finally marching to war alongside the 4th assault company’s […]

  14. […] ambitious, including my Chaos Knight in the deal and then failing miserably to deliver. Granted, Gilgamesh did see completion eventually, so it all ended well enough, but I wanted to take it a bit more slowly this time around. So I went […]

  15. […] of you might remember that, back when I built and painted my Renegade Knight, Gilgamesh, I also included a roughly Epic 40k-sclaed version of the same warmachine in the project as an added […]

  16. […] instance, I was really happy when Gilgamesh, my Chaos-Knight, made GW’s Webstore blog as an example of a converted Renegade Knight back in […]

Leave a Reply

