Inquisitor 28: Can’t stop!

More INQ28-related work this week, which may or may not be good news for you, depending on what it is you want from this blog ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I really can’t help it, I seem to be on a bit of a roll when it comes to INQ28 lately, in spite of everything, so I guess you’ll just have to indulge me.

There are two projects I would like to share with you today, and the first is basically a further exploration of the things I talked about in my previous post, that is the idea of exploring INQ28 characters by building retainers and familiars to further their background. Hot off my recent work on Inquisitor Gotthardt’s retinue, I focused my attention on this gentleman here, Praetor Janus Auriga of the Golden Legion, my first true scale Marine:

Praetor Janus Auriga (13)
I am still tremedously pleased with the model, but there were still a couple of loose ends for me to tie up: Shortly after completing the original conversion, I came up with two retainers for Janus Auriga, creating something like a “mini-warband” of sorts.

The first of those was a converted chapter serf carrying Praetor Auriga’s helmet:

Chapter Serf
This model was originally created for a fairly mundane reason: I had a nice helmet for my true scale Marine, but I also definitely wanted the model to be bare headed. Of course I could have just glued the helmet to the model’s belt, but building a chapter serf for the task of carrying the helmet just seemed like such a great way of channelling the medieval nature of the Space Marines, so I just went for it. You also don’t usually see too many chapter serfs in model for, so there was that, too.

Afterwards, ing simply fell into place: I still had a cherub carrying a bolter back from when Codex: Witchhunters was originally released. My cousin Andy gave the model to me a while ago:

Bolter_Cherub
And while the sculpt is not without its problems, this little guy just seemed like the perfect addition to Brother Auriga’s small retinue: One servant to carry the helmet, one to carry the bolter — ideal, really! So I merely rebased the cherub, and he was ready for painting.

Bolter Cherub WIP (1)

What I ended up with was a rather characterful little group, if I do say so myself:

Brother Sergeant Auriga and Retainers WIP
And in addition to giving up a very strong 40k vibe, the two retainers also contextualise the Astartes, making him seem even more massive and monstrous.

So with my recent success while working on some older models for Inquisitor Gotthardt’s retinue, I felt it was finally time to return to Brother Auriga’s servants and finally complete them.

First up, the chapter serf. Here’s a PIP shot:

Golden Legion Chapter Serf PIP (1)
It was clear from the start that the helmet would be painted to match the Praetor’s armour. So in order to really make the helmet stand out as the priceless chapter relic it probably is, I had to paint the chapter serf in mostly drab, earthen tones, so as not to make him to overwhelming from a visual perspective. This proved to be an interesting challenge, because while I did want the model to clearly read as a servant and chapter menial, I also didn’t want the character to come across as (too) filthy and downtrodden, because while that would certainly have highlighted the whole medieval angle about him, it would also have felt somewhat unsuitable for a Space Marine chapter, even a rather archaic one. What’s more, while this guy may be a mere menial for the chapter, his task is still an important one, and he takes pride in it (I am actually feeling reminded of the Bright Carvers from Gormenghast, if that makes any sense).

I also realised that I would need something beyond the helmet to suggest the model’s affiliation with the Golden Legion chapter, and golden armour was out of the question, for fairly obvious reasons. Hence the inclusion of a small heraldic plate featuring the Golden Legion’s trademark black and white checkerboard pattern (that also appears on Praetor Janus Auriga’s left pauldron).

So here’s the finished chapter serf:

Golden Legion Chapter Serf (2)
Golden Legion Chapter Serf (1)
Golden Legion Chapter Serf (3)
As you can see, I added a backpack to the model. I really wanted to invoke the impression that, in addition to carrying that helmet in a suitably dramatic fashion, the chapter serf also serves Janus Auriga as a personal artificer:

Golden Legion Chapter Serf (4)
Golden Legion Chapter Serf (5).JPG
Golden Legion Chapter Serf (6)
Something I really like about the finished model is the combination of fairly mundane equipment (like the hammer and wrench) with the more esoteric gear underneath (small caskets of what I imagine to be holy oils and unguents, and a small book containing the correct rites of maintenance for the Astartes warplate): In spite of all the mysticism surrounding technology in the 41st millennium, what are you going to use, at the end of the day, to get a dent out of an armour plate but a hammer? Of course you’ll be singing the required hymyms of repair at the top of your lungs during the act, but my point still stands ๐Ÿ˜‰

So here are Janus Auriga and his chapter serf. I really like the dynamic between the two models:

Janus Auriga of the Golden Legion and Chapter Serf
After the challenge of painting the serf model, getting some paint on the cherub was a pretty straightforward affair — the main challenge here was to work around some of the kinks inherent in the model itself. I’ll be honest with you: I am really just about through with metal models at this point. But the little guy made such a beautiful retainer for Janus Auriga that I gritted my teeth together and persevered:

Bolter Cherub (1)
Bolter Cherub (2)
Bolter Cherub (3)
So here are all three models together:

Praetor Janus Auriga and retainers (3)
I really think the combination of Janus Auriga’s somewhat archaic artificer warplate and his two servants underlines the quasi-medieval and archaic nature of the Astartes as monastic warrior knights, for lack of a better word.

Interestingly enough, the whole project wasn’t really about rules or gaming concerns — …appearing, so to speak, and they felt like a great way of fleshing out the nature of the Golden Legion. That said, the helmet bearer and cherub really have the feeling of a fancy wound counters, don’t they? Maybe one mini-mission could even be to reunite the Astartes with his helmet and bolter, with the two pieces of equipment being carried by those familiars…?

Anyway, I am pretty happy with this “mini-warband”, and it feels good to be able to cross two more formerly unpainted models off from my list ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

The other project I would like to share with you today is one that really makes me profoundly happy, even if it began with a very sad event: As you’ll remember, Wayne England passed away recently, and we have seen all kinds of tributes to him across the blogosphere and the forums. One particularly beautifulย  tribute came in the form of a very elegant conversion inspired by one of Mr. England’s illustrations courtesy of the very talented Brothers Wier.

Now when I saw their model, I actually felt a pang of envy, both because the conversion was excellent, but also because I really didn’t feel able to come up with a similar tribute in model form, and that irked me a bit.

But then the strangest thing happened: PDH posted some thoughts about a new Inquisitorial Ordo, the Ordo Scriptorum, over at the Ammobunker. To quote Peter on the matter:

Ordo Scriptorum
The main task of the Ordo Scriptorum is to find errors and failures within Adeptus Administratum and Adeptus Astra Telepathica. The Ordo examines and investigates the communications and record keeping of the Imperium. Since its inception it has branched out and subsumed the roles and responsibilities of Ordo Scriptus, preserving the official historical records of the Imperium too. The Ordo Scriptorum maintains and scrutinises the record keeping of the entire Imperium from the present and going back to its inception, prior to the Horus Heresy and the Great Crusade. For millennia the Ordo Scriptorum has been based solely on Terra but factions within it have begun moving resources off the Throne World; they feel a presence in Sectors throughout the wider Imperium would reduce the error rate and the time it takes to discover and rectify mistakes. Plus being able to proportionate blame in person is seen as a good deterrent to scribes of the Adeptus Administatum.

Some find is surprising how well armed and militant Ordo Scriptorum Inquisitors can be. But the Ordo Scriptorum often finds itself acting within the remit of the Ordo Hereticus upon bureaucults and the fallen within the Adeptus Administratum. Plus the philosophical wars with the Ordo Scriptorum mean that its members are often required to bear arms for protection (…)

And while this already reads like a rather promising outline, Peter also added a piece of artwork by none other than the late and great Wayne England to illustrate what he thought an Inquisitor of the Ordo Scriptorum might look like. Incidentally, I have featured the very same illustration as part of my recent tribute post to Wayne England, and it’s easily one of my favourite pieces of art done by him:

illustration by Wayne England

illustration by Wayne England

And seeing these ideas and concepts being brought together by Peter just resonated with me, for some reason: Things just started to fall into place, and suddenly I found myself starting to convert a model, and I didn’t really come to until I was halfway through the project.

At first I merely started trying out some bitz and shapes. One thing I really wanted to get right was the stunning silhouette and pose from the original artwork. So this is what I ended up with after a bit of messing around:

Redactor early WIP (2)
Redactor early WIP (3)
Redactor early WIP (1)
I was lucky enough to have some bitz lying around that really came in handy during this process: The robed legs from the WFB/AoS Chaos Sorcerer were a bit of a no-brainer. Then I discovered that the bitz best-suited to producing the pose and overall look I wanted came from the Dreamforge Games Eisenkern Stormtroopers. And the part that really made the conversion promising, even at this early stage, was a servitor head from the Space Marines Stormraven kit — easily one of the best overlooked bitz from GW’s entire catalogue, if you ask me.

So I was off to a fairly promising start, but the model wasn’t quite there yet, obviously. So I didn’t stop until I had this:

Redactor WIP (1)
Redactor WIP (2)
Redactor WIP (3)
Yes, definitely getting there!

And thanks to an abundance of helpful feedback on the Ammobunker and Dakka, I was able to make the final push and complete the conversion:

Redactor WIP (15)
I decided to add another book to the model’s hip, in spite of my misgivings about it possibly messing with the silhouette: What really won me over was the parallel between those books and twin pistol holsters: It seems as though this Inquisitor were wielding his knowledge as a weapon…

I also added a scroll (from the 54mm Eisenhorn model, no less) to the left hand. And a key from the WFB Empire flagellants, an element hinting at hidden knowledge and a certain mysticism.

Redactor WIP (14)
I also couldn’t help myself and added a small Inquisitorial symbol to one of the books ๐Ÿ˜‰

Redactor WIP (13)
The model’s back is where I deviated from the original sketch: I didn’t recreate that big, augmetic sack of scrolls appearing in the artwork, but rather went for something a little more subdued, mostly because I think it better fits the character: An Inquisitor of some standing should have a menial to carry around all of those scrolls, after all (which also gives me a handy excuse for building yet another model):

Redactor WIP (12)
All in all, I am really very, very happy with the model! Here’s another comparison between the orignal illustration and my interpretation of it:

illustration by Wayne England

illustration by Wayne England

Redactor WIP (15)
As for a possible retinue, I think it would have to have a very special feel, like the Inquisitor himself. Right now, I am considering at least one menial carrying books and scrolls (similar to a couple of models PDH is building at the moment). And maybe a hulking member of the Guild of Parchment Scroteners, doubling as a bodyguard? This model would probably be based on the Brian Nelson Nurgle Lord (or a Putrid Blightking) and use an approach similar to conversions done by PDH and Jeff Vader. Maybe I’ll also have to source those scribes/assistants from the Celestial Hurricaum kit…? Anyway, I am open to suggestions for possible characters, of course!

 

So yeah, so much from the wonderful world of INQ28 for today! It goes without saying that I would love to hear any feedback you might have!

And, as always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

40 Responses to “Inquisitor 28: Can’t stop!”

  1. I don’t really do much 40K stuff but your work is inspiring-if only White Dwarf had articles like this!

  2. Wonderful! I think this new inquisitor is an excellent tribute to the late Wayne England. Furthermore, I think it is one of the best models you have ever created (of those I have seen at least). You have done a great job of capturing the likeness of the illustration. The head works perfectly, it is truly a piece that should see more use! The Eisenkern body combined with those sorcerer legs works so well together. Everything comes together to make a dignified, if not a little creepy, character, exactly like the artwork!

    • Thanks a lot, Eric! That is really nice of you to say! I agree about the model probably being one of my best — in fact, it’s only rarely that my work ever gets within spitting distance of, say, stuff by PDH or Jeff Vader. But when it does, every once in a while, I am really over the moon because of it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. That interpretation of the Wayne England picture is great, and its really interesting to be able to follow your process all the way through the conversion (plus youโ€™re a better man than I at remembering to stop and take pictures occasionally!) If youโ€™re thinking of making a retinue what about the hooded acolyte with the book and all the eyes standing just behind him? Heโ€™s always been one of my favourite parts of that picture โ€“ even though I know heโ€™s there he still jumps out after Iโ€™ve been looking for a few seconds.

    I like what you did with the two retainers for Auriga as well. The addition of the backpack and tools really adds to the helmet bearer and instantly tells me two things about the Space Marine (other than that heโ€™s quite a bit bigger than a normal man!). A โ€“ he either has a colossal ego or he feels the need to display authority openly (ties in with what I recall of the character from previous posts) and B โ€“ heโ€™s also a practical man who wants to get things done (no sending damaged kit back to the armoury for him). Both of those traits are also things I associate with Space Marines so it all ties together neatly.

    Tying this back in to the retinue of the Ordo Scriptorum inquisitor Iโ€™m wondering what elements of his character youโ€™d want to portray through his retainers? I also wondered about some way of referencing the (now subsumed) Ordo Scriptus? Perhaps someone whoโ€™s duty it is to root through old books and ledgers in search of any offending records of events that have been deemed unsuitable to keep?

    • My partner in crime, DexterKong, and I are already frantically exchanging ideas about the Ordo Scriptorum’s presence in the Velsen sector. For now, suffice it to say that this particular Inquisitor has probably come to Velsen to examine something in the history of sector that doesn’t add up and hints at deeper, darker secrets…

      As for a possible retinue (beyond the idea already outlined in the post), the multi-eyed, cowled chap is certainly a likely candidate. I want the retinue to have an elegant, albei pretty sinister feel, not unlike the look of the Inquisitor.

      Regarding Auriga, the important thing about him is that he has been seconded to the sector’s capital world by his chapter master to serve as the Golden Legion’s political representative. And while it’s a role he resents, he is not above consciously using his “signs of office” to flaunt his obvious power. He is really a rather interesting and complicated character, and I hope I#ll eventually get around to sharing more of my ideas for him with you all.

      • All sounds very interesting โ€“ Iโ€™m excited to see what you come up with both on the inquisitor and his crew (and whatever theyโ€™re looking for) and of course on the nature of Auriga.

  4. Love the Wayne England tribute! Fantastic work mate!

  5. More Inq28, more!

    Love the serf and cherub, and the addition of the necromunda backpack is great. It seems to me though that the Golden Legion is the sort of Chapter that has bright colored bolter cases though… red being the obvious choice.

    The new Ordo Scriptorum inquisitor is great too, and looking at the figure I get a good impression of his character, which is excellent. However, he is not very well armed… at least openly! You might want to consider a very obvious “muscle” character as part of his retinue to make up that deficiency, although it could also be that as a member of the Ordo Scriptorum, he just does not anticipate open combat (and who is to say that his cane does not have a sword in it, or doubles as a shock maul or something).

    Anyway, keep up the good work!

    • Cheers, mate! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I actually seriously considered a red bolter case, but ultimately decided against it because it seemed a bit too retro for my taste ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also wanted Auriga’s weapons to look like tools more than anything else, to hint at his ultimately pragmatic nature.

      Regarding the Ordo Scriptorum Inquisitor, it was actually rather hard to resist adding a weapon of some sort to him, but I am ultimately very happy with this decision: For me, it makes him slightly scary, to be honest: How can an unarmed character exude such absolute confidence in the 40k setting? Makes you wonder about the things you don’t see, doesn’t it…? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. It is great to see you are continuing to work on Praetor Janus Auriga! His two new retainers are great looking. You did a wonderful job of making the helmet bearer look natural (I love his pose). The red stripe on the marineโ€™s helmet is awesome too!

    I simply adore the work you have done on your Ordo Scriptorum Inquisitor conversion. It is a stunning piece of work that perfectly captures the essence of the original artwork. You managed to merge all of the components seamlessly and naturally. The model is just brimming with character and life! I am giddy with excitement to see the model and his retinue progress. Simply a remarkable job and a fitting tribute to Wayne England.

    Do you think you could add tiny chains holding the two books to his waist? They would help the model mirror the picture even closer. I am not sure the chains are really needed though (it might be tricky to find chains that are small enough).

    Thank you for mentioning my conversion of Samael and I am glad you figured out how to make your out tribute!
    Keep up the great work.

    • Cheers, Adam! It occurs to me now that not only did your conversion pave the way for mine in a way, but you were also the first person to really make the Eisenkern parts work in an INQ28 environment with Inquisitor Molnar, so your work really served as an inspiration in more ways than one — it would have been remiss not to mention that ๐Ÿ™‚

      As for the actual model, I am really happy to hear you like him as much as I do! I did think about adding those chains, and I believe it would probably easy enough to do, but I fear the model is but a hair’s breadth away from being overdone at this point, and I really, really don’t want to ruin the composition, even if that comes at the cost of a lower fidelity to the illustration.

      • Yeah, I agree it is not worth potentially messing up the wonderful composition of the model by adding chains.

        The Eisenkern models have a surprising amount of wonderful components that work really well for Inq28 conversions. If carefully planned and executed they can be deemed with Games Workshop models beatifully. The body on your Inquisitor works marvelously, particularly in how thin it is (while still looking armored). The kits also have some really nice little bolstered pistols that I have considered using on multiple occasions.

      • I actually thought of your weapon conversions when working with the kit, as the additional conversion sprue (which I got during the original Kickstarter) comes with additional weapon options that would probably come in handy during your various conversion projects. Another high points are the many additional hands that allow for almost every pose imaginable.

  7. You can never put enough Inq stuff here on the blog. This is a stunning figure.

    Would it be worth it to do a b&w paintjob to match the illustration?

    • Cheers, Odie! Glad to hear that!
      I’ll be honest, while I do think monochrome paintjobs can be a powerful thing, my models are ultimately created with the option of using them in games, and a single monochromatic model would look really strange among the rest of my collection. That said, I think there will be enough contrast to the paintjob to make the most of the model, and I am considering a pretty dark paintjob for this guy. We’ll see.

  8. Beautiful builds on the Inquisitor and retinue and a sharp paint job as well – always loved that bolter-dragging cherub! The scriptorum build based on the England art is inspired, fantastic work, man!

    • Thanks, mate! The cherub is a little clunky by today’s standards, but the model was just too characterful , so I had to bite the bullet and paint it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Mark DCCCXIII "Voyager" (Time/Dimensional Travelling Armour) Says:

    A few comments/questions –

    1. The Bolter seems almost too grimy on the Cherub. I actually disagree with the tendency to make Bolters look so industrial because Marines are trained to practically worship them, like their armour, and so I’d expect them to be just as ornate and plated in precious metals. I think this is even more evident in comparison with the plasma pistol and power sword in Janus’ hands, which are both ornate and appear to at least be bronze, if not gold.

    2. Could we get some lore behind the Golden Legion in general? individual characters are awesome, but it’s also cool to get to know about where they’ve come from, and it might help define Janus to know his Chapter’s semblance. Do they prefer ranged or hand to hand combat, and how do Janus’ personal preferences compare? Are they a Codex Chapter or a Deviant one? Where did their Geneseed arise from, and how close are their ties to their parent/brother Chapter(s)? Are there any Imperial organizations they maintain close ties to or despise, and, in either case, why is that and what effects do these extreme relations have on the Chapters function? Are there any major honours in the Chapter and, if so, how does one earn them? Which, if any, of these honours does Janus hold? What is his rank within the Chapter?

    ((Consider all of that a personal request for a blog post. I would love to see this Chapter fleshed out. ^-^))

    2. It might be interesting to true-scale one of the named characters from Khorne’s Eternal Hunt with parallel retainers? I would love to see someone like Huntmaster Deracin with a mutant and possessed Servitor bearing his helm and chainaxe or something similar. Just a thought.

    3. On the Inquisitor – brilliant conversion! It’s absolutely fantastic! I would just like to point out that, in the picture you based him on, part of the reason that he is so imposing is that he’s looking down on the viewer and whatever it is he’s observing – his gaze is angled below the horizontal, which adds a real air of menace. Your model, by contrast, appears to be looking upwards. You may wish to try angling the head down and see if you like it.

    All in all, amazing work, as usual! My brother and I are looking to splurge and get the new Deathwatch: Ignition box. Would you mind if I converted a Golden Legionaire into their ranks?

    • Hey mate,

      whoa, quite a lot of questions there. Let’s see…

      Regarding the bolter, I get what you’re saying, but I ultimately went this route for two specific reasons:

      One, I wanted the gun to contrast with the model carrying it, and since there was gold on several parts of the model (the cherub’s vambraces, the small locks,…), I went for a rather simple, well-oiled look for the bolter.

      This also hints at Janus Auriga’s character, though (and his other weapons are actually pretty plain as well, if you take a closer look): While his current assignment is to function as a living embodiment of the chapter’s might, with all the superfluos bling and ostentatiousness that might entail, he is still a warrior at heart, straightforward and utterly practical. And his weapons should reflect that, which is why they are well-kept but not overly ornamental.

      As for the Golden Legion, I am sure I’ll be revealing more of their backstory at some point, although it’s important to point out that I don’t even have it all worked out yet. I like to leave blanks that I can colour in later, when the need arises. Anyway, the cliff notes version would be that they are an Imperial Fists successor chapter that served as the Imperial Saint Sabasto’s personal guard when he led a sacred crusade to defend the Velsen Sector against the ruinous powers. They fought at his side, but were ultimately unable to protect him and Sabasto was martyred inside the region of space called the Veil of Impurity. The tragedy here is obviously that the loss of the saint really plays into the chapter’s hereditary trauma (having lost Terra, then a good part of the legion during the Iron Cage incident and ultimately, its Primarch). Which is why the Golden Legion is ceaselessly at work guarding the Velsen Sector against enemies from without, fortifying its borders and keeping it stable — this is also why Janus Auriga was sent to the sector’s capital world, as the chapter master felt that the amount of politicking was getting out of hand and destabilising the sector.

      As a fighting force, the chapter is all about risk management and contingency plans. However, this also entails having a plan for which chapter hero will engage which enemy commander, and officers of the Golden Legion are well known for their prowess in battles at close quarters, favouring blade weapons. So, that’s just a very basic outline. I’d be honoured if you were to create a Deathwatch Golden legionnaire! Just make sure to include some golden elements, the red stripe down the center of the helmet (if the Marine is an officer, that is), and the checkerboard design on the pauldron ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Regarding a true scaled World Eater, I already have one of those and will only need to paint it at some point. Oh, and I also have that true scaled Kharn, so there’s that too. A bigger version of an already existing character is pretty unlikely, though, as I would much rather build new characters. Deracin is so tall that he might work as a truescale INQ28 model, though ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Oh, and the head on the Scriptorum Inquisitor is not yet glued in, so I can (and will) still tweak the position.

      Phew, I think that just about covers it, doesn’t it? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Mark DCCCXIII "Voyager" (Time/Dimensional Travelling Armour) Says:

        I daresay it does!

        I don’t think I’m going to be using my own Golden Legionaire as an officer, but I will more likely than not give him a golden shoulder pad and a heraldic shield with a checkerboard patter (if I can get my hands on one.

        Could we get a picture of Janus squaring off with Deracin then? You could always build him retainers that would count as new characters ๐Ÿ˜‰

        And sweet! Keep us posted!

      • Haha, I fear you’ll have to go for a checkerboard shoulder pad, or ut doesn’t count ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think the easiest way would be to use the same shoulder pad I’ve used on Janus’ left arm: That way, you get the necessary space for the pattern as well as some additional decoration that could be painted in gold.

      • Mark DCCCXIII "Voyager" (Time/Dimensional Travelling Armour) Says:

        I’m afraid you may be overestimating my painting skills, but I will give it a shot.

      • Ha, tough luck: If I had to pull it off, then so will you ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Mark DCCCXIII "Voyager" (Time/Dimensional Travelling Armour) Says:

        Well then, good sir, challenge accepted!

  10. The Wayne England model is fantastic!!

  11. I love the Officio Scriptorum guy!
    So faithful to the illustration, a great tribute.

    Good job!


    morbรคck

    • Thanks a lot, mate! I wasn’t lucky enough to get a Wayne England illustration tailored to one of my models, but I can certainly try to make it work the other way around ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. I am enjoying this series. Keep up the great work.

  13. Geralt Wiwczareck Says:

    Wow, I haven’t checked out your blog for some time because of all the schoolwork I have atm, but now that I finally found the time, I can only say that your work never ceases to amaze me, and that you still remain as much an inspiration as before!

    Keep up the hard work mate! Greetings from Belgium! ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. So cool! I made me laugh seeing that little fella really trying to lift the bolter high enough so it won’t always scratch over the floor, but it’s just too heaveeeeee! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. […] it comes to INQ28, I would really love to start painting my Ordo Scriptorum warband representing Redactor Orlanth and his […]

Leave a Reply

