Meanwhile, back at Isstvan…

30k legion badge02

Painting the models for my AdMech warband left me in a fairly productive mood, and before my motivation had any chance of dying down again, I took the opportunity to paint my first 30k World Eaters test model. This turned out to be quite an educational experience. But we’ll be getting to that.

Let me start by sharing my research first — I actually love doing research for projects, and it has become a sizeable part of the hobby for me. Before I tackle a particularly challenging or interesting project, I will spend quite some time digging through a mountain of material, ranging from threads I like to random Google image search results.

I also did this in order to figure out what kind of look I wanted for my Pre-Heresy World Eaters. In fact, I’ve been squirreling away inspirational images of 30k World Eaters for quite a while now – just in case πŸ˜‰ But when all was said and done, three main sources of inspiration remained:

1. Mr. Poom’s World Eaters

World Eaters by Mr. Poom
Mr. Poom’s version of the 8th assault company is very possibly the coolest 30k World Eaters army in existence right now, so it shouldn’t surprise you that I chose his models as one of my main inspirations. I really wanted to emulate the particular shade of off-white he uses for the armour. Beyond that, I think that Mr. Poom’s style is far more exact and meticulous than my own, so I would need to find a way of covering up some of my inevitable mistakes — weathering and battle damage were the obvious answers!

2. Triarii by kizzdougs

World Eater by kizzdougs
There isn’t a more beautifully weathered and battle-damaged World Eater than the one shown above, painted by kizzdougs. Now kizzdougs paints some of the most amazing 30k models around, yet what’s the most fascinating is how he can do both the ultra-exact, clean and stunningly highlighted look of his Emperor’s Children as well as the thoroughly beaten-up, weathered look of the XII or IV legions. His Triarii legionary serves as a stunning example of this and became another important inspiration. However, I wanted a slightly less weathered look for my own World Eater.

3. World Eaters by James Karch

World Eater by James Karch
James Karch is the owner of another absolutely stunning World Eaters army (also beautifully documented as Army of the Month in Warhammer:Visions #4, still one of my favourite spreads ever from that magazine). And his army served as the kind of missing link I needed: It has the off-white of Mr. Poom’s World Eaters, but also a weathered look similar to kizzdougs’ model. So this army became the third vital piece to complete the triptych.

With the elements I liked and wanted to emulate firmly in my mind, I started painting. And while the white armour turned out to be a bit of a challenge, I also discovered that battle damage and weathering is a great tool for covering up any slipups πŸ˜‰ Anyway, after a short while (and a bit of a nervous breakdown somewhere near the halfway mark), my first 30k test model was finished. Take a look:

 

30k World Eater (1)
“I will never forget the day the legion ships came to my world. The whispered benedictions, forbidden even then, that accompanied them.Β  And those of us who aspired to a place among their ranks: Noble Hergan. Soulful Krizti. Brave Sharlen.
How they laughed at me, the baseborn butcher’s boy.

And when those of the legion came to walk among us, clad in armour of white and blue, they were glorious and terrible, and we caught a first glimpse of the consequences our choice might have.

They passed over noble Hergan and soulful Krizti, and killed brave Sharlen when he dared to talk back to them, then laughed over his broken body in voices that were deep and cruel.

And they chose me, the baseborn butcher’s boy.

Because for all its perceived flaws, the twelfth had learned even back then what others would only find out later
(and many too late):

That the Emperor’s Crusade had little need of thinkers and poets, philosophers or noblemen.
It needed butchers.”

Legionary Shadrak, Eigar Veteran Tactical squad, 4th assault company, XII Legion Astartes

 

30k World Eater (2)
30k World Eater (4)
30k World Eater (5)
30k World Eater (6)

All in all, I am really rather happy with my first effort. Not everything may have gone 100% according to plan, but the finished model clearly has the look I wanted. It was also nice to be able to use those red World Eaters decals the way originally intended by Forgeworld (although the decals’ uneven performance remains a minor concern).

Oh, here’s a closer look at the right shoulder pad, by the way:

30k World Eater (8)
In the end, the tactical markings from the Betrayal at Calth decal sheet turned out to be far easier to apply to the shoulder pad than the ones from the World Eaters decal sheet. I added a small WE legion badge on top, in order to denote veteran status.

So, all in all, here’s what I have learned while painting the model:

  • white an be just as unenjoyable to paint as red — out of the frying pan and into the fire, I guess πŸ˜‰
  • That said, I will try a different recipe for my white next time around: The model was painted over a black (and silver) basecoat, because that recipe had worked so well on my AdMech models, with different colours blocked in later. It didn’t work so well with white. And the approach was rather backwards to begin with, so I’ll consider actually using a white undercoat on my nect 30k World Eater.
  • Lahmian Medium turned into an indispensable tool when it came to shading the armour: I mixed it with a bit of black and brown wash for a shade that was just heavy enough, but not so heavy as to ruin the white.
  • I tried sponge weathering for the first time, and while there’s quite a bit of room for improvement, it’s a really fun and rather effective technique.
  • I still have to get used to the new Space Marine bases, as they seem freakishly big to me. Every model seems like a Terminator now, simply by virtue of a bigger base πŸ˜‰ I think I really like the effect for a Killteam or warband but would find it a bit distracting on an entire army…

So much for my first 30k World Eater. It’s been fun! And, of course, I’d love to hear any feedback you might have!

As always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

30k World Eater (7)

31 Responses to “Meanwhile, back at Isstvan…”

  1. Oh, I like this… you captured the brutality perfectly mate, especially with that machete… he one bad muvva! Not tempted to flick a little Blood for the Blood God at him???

    • Cheers, Alex! I have actually been thinking about some blood spatters, but haven’t managed to decide about it yet. I will say that I feel many Heresy-era World Eaters armies are hurt rather than enhanced by the amount of gore, since blood effects are so very easy to overdo. By the same token, there’s such a lot of weathering in place on the model that I fear blood added on top would be the straw to break the camel’s back, so to speak. Anyway, if there should be any blood, I imagine it will be a fairly subtle affair.

      • It’s a tough call… less is definitely more in this case :-/ I’ve had some success blowing it off a loaded brush using a straw – you can get quite a fine mist if your lucky (or a glob if you aren’t!). Anyway, looks great as is, so certainly no need to do it πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve had similar issues with white. The secret is to paint the surface with something that covers well -grey primer, for example-, and build up layers upon layers of thin whites. (Best to airbrush.) I’ve did Kharn, and this was the result: https://butterfingeredmodelbuilder.wordpress.com/2015/08/12/forgeworld-khran-the-betrayer/

    • Good advice there, mate, although I have to admit that I usually lack the patience for working in multiple thin coats. That said, I was able to cover up a lot of my slipups with careful weathering, so it all worked out in the end πŸ˜‰ For the next model in line, I think it would make sense to look at the option of using a white undercoat to begin with.

  3. Really liking that blue, it’s much softer than the blue I see used on a lot of Heresy-era World Eaters but I think it works really well with the white and bronze. Keep that motivation going mate, even this butcher’s boy won’t be able to storm the walls of Terra alone!

  4. I think that’s actually one of the better-toned 30K World Eaters I’ve seen. The color’s there, but it’s muted just the right amount for the weathering effects to look believable. The only thing that throws it off ever so slightly for me is how flat the copper/bronze looks. It might need more weathering up, or deeper shading. Awesome job.

    • Thanks, mate! As for the bronze, it’s actually not as flat as it looks, although I’ll admit the pictures do a pretty bad job of showing it off, as there’s a tad too much glare. Anyway, another look at the pauldron may be in order.

  5. Great job as always. I really the background piece on that dear butcher’s boy. Well done.

  6. I’m not generally a fan of white painted models but my thoughts have done a complete backflip. Yours and KizzDougs models are amazing! I love a bit of wear and tear and blood spattering. Im not a fan of the crisp gleaming space marines with their perfect insignia. I like a marine to look as though he has shot and hacked his way through a legion of foes not like he’s attending some fancy ball. Haha. Great work my friend.

  7. I also like researching, however my research and reasoning behind models and armies etc doesn’t always appear in my blog. I might add more. πŸ˜‰

  8. Very nice work. The colors work out well without being too weathered.

    The beastman arm seems perfect as a “savage” sword.

    I have resisted the siren call of 30k (so far), but I do have a spreadsheet page with a World Eater’s army planned out…

    • To be honest, I didn’t want to jump in either, but once GW decided to release plastic Horus Heresy kits, I was straight out of excuses… πŸ™‚

      • Yeah being able to build a pretty complete little army for the price of two boxed sets and a few bitz orders lowers the bar pretty substantially.

        “Fortunately” I have a bunch of 40k and Fantasy armies (and innumerable other odds and ends too) to make me feel too guilty about buying and building a new army.

  9. For some reason I’m more excited by these than your current age WE. Mind I really like your army but there’s something of the restraint and very nice palette you’ve hit that just really works for me πŸ™‚

    • While I doubt I’ll be swearing off the 40k World Eaters altogether, I definitely see what you mean: There’s something I really like about this guy, and exploring this recipe a bit further should be fun, even if it’s only for a couple of models (for now).

  10. Very nice figure πŸ™‚
    I like the head, especially the fact that it is not too crazy.
    I think all the FW ones for the World Eaters are too extreme in the madness showing, they lack a bit of humanity.

    Good stuff!

    • Thanks a lot, mate! I’m eally glad you like the model!

      I think that the gradual loss of humanity is one of the most interesting and rewarding parts of the World Eaters’ background, when handled appropriately. This often gets lost with models that are too over the top, as you say, so I tried to make my own test model slightly more subdued, while still featuring both the gladiatorial leanings as well as the rage the legion is known for πŸ˜‰

  11. […] A blog about KrautScientist's wargaming exploits « Meanwhile, back at Isstvan… […]

  12. […] — it really shouldn’t surprise you that Kizzdougs’ World Eaters model shown below was one of my main design templates when starting to paint my own first 30k World Eaters. His example even made me try my hand at sponge-weathering, and I am really happy I […]

  13. […] and as if I needed any more justification to further pursue this particular project, the post showcasing my first test model actually attracted exactly 888 […]

  14. Really nice work, I especially like the butcher’s boy short, really epitomises the WE. How did you paint the blue? It’s pretty much exactly the shade I’m trying to go for.

    • The blue is basically Vallejo Magic Blue with a drop of black mixed iinto it to take away some of the vibrancy. It started as a stopgap solution, but I like the effect well enough that I think I’ll be using the same recipe for the rest of my 30k World Eaters as well πŸ˜‰ Incidentally, you might want to check out my latest post as well, as it has a rather comprehensive tutorial for painting Heresy era WE armour!

      • Andrew Anderson Says:

        I think it is one of the best blues for the WE’s I have seen yet. I really dig it. I was looking at maybe doing a muted blue, like, almost SW Grey. But this is beautiful.

      • Cheers, mate! Does this mean we might be seeing some 30k World Eaters from you at some point, though…?

  15. […] it’s only proper to take a closer look at these models today. Some of you may remember that my first 30k test model ended up quite alright, but also that I didn’t find the process of painting white armour all […]

Leave a Reply

