Chaos Fantasy

Since taking a look at the new DA release and all the potential for conversions turned out to be a lot of fun, it stands to reason I have to do the same with the new WFB Warriors of Chaos release, seeing how these twisted guys are even closer to my heart than a couple of loyalist dogs: What’s more, Warriors of Chaos were my first love in WFB and actually the first tabletop army I ever managed to complete, so while it’s very unlikely that I will ever return to WFB, I still have a huge soft spot in my heart for these guys!

Chaos players really have much cause for celebration at the moment, with a new book for the Chaos Space Marines released last October, a huge WoC update right now and books for Daemons in 40k and WFB already in the works, supposedly. And even though some of the models may be a little hit-or-miss so far, I feel that’s quite easily forgivable given the sheer amount of stuff released for chaos players. So let’s take a look at the latest slew of releases, as I gather some spur of the moment ideas on what could possibly be done with the new kits…

As per my usual routine, I’ll probably mostly talk about how these kits can be used in 40k in one way or another. I hope you won’t mind…

So let’s start with the characters:

 

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Throgg, King of Trolls

Let’s begin with this huuuge Finecast model. I love this guy, period. He’s everything that a troll king should be, in my opinion. I love the face, I love the pose, I even like the (slightly ridiculous) cape. What really makes this model stand out, though, are the small details: The magical crown lodged on one of his tusks. The way the model has a pretty coherent shape overall but is still wracked with mutation (take a look at that teeth gnashing maws on Throgg’s belly and leg). Without a doubt, this is a worthy centrepiece for any army. There may be no conceivable way of using him in 40k (at least not without lots of harebrained explanations and/or extensive conversions that would probably destroy what’s so great about the model), and I will also very likely never buy this guy. But I still think it’s a marvelous model! Great job!

 

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Vilitch the Curseling

Actually my second favourite model in this release — I wonder what’s wrong with me πŸ˜‰ But let’s take a closer look:
While some people prefer the more “conventional” look Vilitch has in the older artwork, I really love just how alien he looks: The armour on the bigger brother immediately reads as Tzeentchian, while the actual Vilitch looks nightmarish and twisted enough (he is also eyeless…brrrr): I think it’s a cool idea to have Vilitch fused to his brother’s body in a haphazard and asymmetrical (this is Tzeentch, remember?) fashion, instead of merely being carried piggyback. My only gripe is that the smaller brother’s staff should have been quite a bit shorter (it just looks extremely impractical as is), so I would probably shorten it to just above the “bandaged” part of the grip. All in all, this model shows a more stylised look that I am normally not exceptionally fond of – we’ll get to that in a minute – but for some reason, it works here.

Again, I am really not sure this guy has any use for 40k, but if I actually still played WFB, this would be a must-buy for me.

 

New WoC models (3)

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Plastic Chaos Lord

Well, this guy deserves kudos for the mere fact that he’s plastic — I love plastic characters! Apart from that, the model’s quite alright. I don’t mind the static pose too much, since we are talking about a mighty warlord here, and he should exude quiet menace. The head seems a little iffy, although that should be easily solvable with a simple head change. The lance is cool enough, but seems like too much of a good thing: I really can’t see this guy fighting with a broadsword and a lance at the same time. Personally speaking, I’d just leave it off or replace it with something else.

All in all, this guy is pretty cool, nothing more and nothing less. His main importance will possibly lie in serving as a base for myriads of conversions in both WFB and 40k, and it should be fairly easy to transform him into a follower of a specific chaos god (or a CSM, for that matter). I really expect this guy to be the model that everyone will love to convert. As a matter of fact, I could even see him used as a base for INQ28 conversions!Β  So even though I am not totally floored by the model, I am pretty likely to pick up one of these, just for the heck of it.

 

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Chaos Chariot/Gorebeast Chariot

This kit comes with options to build either the Chaos Chariot you see above and the Gorebeast Chariot that is being pulled by a single …well, Gorebeast actually:

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

A new chariot kit has been overdue for WoC, obviously. Let’s see how this one stacks up:
On the one hand, I like the supposed flexibility of the kit and the fact that it’s plastic (I LOVE plastic, in case you didn’t know πŸ˜‰ ). According to WD, the kit also comes with lots of head and weapon options and additional bitz, so that’s a plus as well.

On the other hand, there’s something going on with the design of this kit that I am not really all that fond of. Let me show you what I mean. by taking a closer look at one of the chariot crew:

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Well, this guy is definitely screaming Chaos alright: He’s huge and imposing. He’s heavily armoured. He’s also quite spiky. But the bold lines and pointy bitz make him look almost too comic-book-like for my taste. GW’s Chaos is usually baroque and lavish, with a side of spiky and feral. Yet this guy is almost too stylised for his own good. Don’t get me wrong, the model is cool, taken on its own. Yet when placed next to some of the older models (or even some of the not-so-old models from the first wave of the release), he looks almost cartoony by comparison. A trace of the same element is also present in the Vilitch model. Yet where Vilitch manages to transform this otherness into an actual part of what’s cool about the character, the crew member above just slightly looks like the animΓ© version of Chaos for some reason. Does this make any sense?
Maybe I am putting too much thought into this…

 

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Forsaken

When the first, fuzzy images for this release were “leaked” onto the net, I was really thrilled for these! I hoped they would give us yet another alternative for constructing mutated followers of chaos. Yet where the 40k Possessed kit is very cool but also very “creppy crawly” visually, I had hoped for these to be slightly more subtle in execution.

Well, silly me, because if anything, the Forsaken are even more over the top than their 40k brethren. As a matter of fact, they seem like a shout out to the old mutation sprue released by GW during the early 2000s for use in both WFB and 40k. Then again, while some of those mutations may look slightly silly, there’s also a couple of really nice and disturbing ideas in this kit, along with mutations that clearly recall specific chaos gods.

I also really feel that the …thing emerging from this guy’s mouth…

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

…could be used to build a fantastic Daemonhost for INQ28.

So what to do? I can easily see these as a viable alternative to further spice up your mutation-wracked forces in both WFB and 40k. The kit should come with lots and lots of interesting bits, and by the look of it it should be fairly compatible with most other (chaos) kits. Whether that’s worth 40,00 Euros a pop is up to you, of course. Personally, I would have hoped for something a little less hammy and more understated (and thus even more disturbing). But that’s just my personal taste, of course.

 

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Dragon Ogres

I have to be honest with you: The very concept of “Dragon Ogres” always seemed a little iffy to me. They seemed to be a part of the setting for no other reason than somebody thinking “Dude, wouldn’t it be awesome to have Ogres with DRAGON BODIES??? Let’s totally do that!” somewhere along the way. Still, this kit has been a long time coming, and it is really, really nice, if you ask me: The Dragon Ogres are huge and imposing (fortunately eschewing the slightly silly charm of the Ogre Kingdoms models). The design is great, and I can see these being a joy to paint as well, with the slightly larger scale lending itself rather well to all kinds of tricks and effects.

From a 40k perspective, I cannot resist thinking about using one of these as a base for a Khornate Daemon Prince. Just look at this guy:

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Wouldn’t he just be perfect for the role with some small additions and changes? Oh well, one can always dream…

 

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Slaughterbrute / Mutalith Vortex Beast

One huge beast per army seems to be par for the course now, so this was only to be expected. In this case, it’s a combi-kit that allows you to build either the Slaughterbrute or the …other thing –no way I am typing that out again πŸ˜‰ The Slaughterbrute (shown above) is sure to make the mouths of chaos player the world over water, and rightly so. It’s a nice and chaotic design, and if you ask me, this is pretty much what the Scyla Anfingrimm mini should have looked like in the first place.

Anyway, a couple of more detailed impressions, if I may:

First of all, the multi-eyed (and multi-tongued, ewww) head looks decidedly non-GW, if you know what I mean. I am not sure whether that’s a good thing. In any case, the kit obviously comes with an alternate head that is freaking awesome (and looks very Khornate to boot). Take a look:

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

I also love how there seems to be some kind of harness/chaos artifact thing rammed into the beast’s back — maybe as some kind of binding or incantation? What I really hate are the smaller arms emerging from the model’s uhh…nipples? Anyway, while they certainly make the beast look more chaotic, they also mess with the very strong silhouette and the points where they emerge look really silly and lazily designed, which is a shame on an otherwise great model.

This big guy could easily be used as a “counts as” Defiler or Greater Daemon in games of 40k (until we are finally getting the rumored new plastic GDs, that is). I am also looking forward to seeing the crazy conversions some of the more inspired hobbyists come up with — I, for one, would love to see the likes of GuitaRasmus or Biohazard have a field day with this kit! The only reason that I am not totally blown away is the fact that the logistics of building and painting such a huge model don’t appeal to me all that much. But again, that is just a matter of personal preference.

Now let’s look at that other …thing as well:

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Wow, just…wow! It actually takes quite a while to a) make sense of this thing and b) realise that this beast is based on the exact same body also used for the Slaughterbrute. I have repeatedly stated that I am not a huge fan of the “mutated beyond any reason” look. That said, this model perfectly embodies chaos, and that is an achievement all of its own. It also goes without saying that followers of Tzeentch and/or Slaanesh will probably cry with joy at this particular model. So while I’ll gladly pass, I still acknowledge that this is a pretty extraordinary piece. It should also be usable in 40k, similar to the possible uses for the Slaughterbrute I outlined above.

Oh, one thing: That chaos portal thing one the beast’s back looks really cool:

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

Image appears courtesy of Games Workshop

I also love the paintjob on this part and sincerely hope it can be duplicated by mere mortals (like me).
As a final remark on this kit, it somehow feels like this is a dream come true for those who follow Khorne, Tzeentch and Slaanesh, yet Nurgle followers seem to get the short end of the stick. Then again, Nurgle players should be used to the necessary conversions by now… πŸ˜‰

 

All in all, some smaller nitpicks notwithstanding, I think that this is a rather strong release for chaos players. While the price tags are once again unlikely to elicit responses of joy (and rightly so), chaos players for both 40k and WFB now have a huge menu of (plastic) kits to tug into. And if you don’t like any part of the release, well, there’s nobody stopping you from coming up with something better: Converting stuff is what being a chaos player is all about, anyway πŸ˜‰

So what do you think of this new release? Any ideas? Do you need to vent your anger? Let me know in the comments section!

As always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

6 Responses to “Chaos Fantasy”

  1. I was pretty disappointed in the Forsaken – a) The Price (I’d planned on buying a set to use as conversion fodder, then maybes convert a regiment of slightly mutated marauders from the leftover bodies) b) The Arms! I love the mutations GW comes up with but the execution leaves a lot to be desired – they seem to have no action about them, just holding a mishapen and oversized arm to one side. This probably has a lot to do with the restrictions of ranking something up in a unit.

    I definitely agree on Vilitch – the design of the warrior part of the figure seems to be a definite nod to the old Realms of Chaos era Tzeentchian followers. The segmented armour (the parts that look like chainmail-y stuff) and the head in particular! The sorcerer part looks amazingly creepy too.

    My second favourite part of the release is the Mutalith – it reminds me of a Lovecraftian Dark Young – http://images4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20100520150247/aliens/images/1/10/DarkYoung.jpg – like you, I don’t really go in for the giant miniatures (I prefer to keep my stuff skirmish-level for the most part) so I doubt I’ll pick one up…

    • Cheers, mate! πŸ˜‰

      I think you’re really on to something RE: the mutations: The fact that the have to be usable as single parts (and that the resulting models have to line up correctly) severely limits their scope. The 40k Possessed are actually more successful in this respect, since their mutations seem to be more organic and less limited to single body parts.

      The Mutalith whatsitsname does indeed have quite a Lovecraftian vibe going on, but I think it’s quite the opposite of the Forsaken in that respect, with a very globally mutated look rather than the odd (awkward looking) tentacled arm here and there.

  2. Hey mate, DRommel here.
    A very good review! I might add that. in my opinion, Throgg would make an excellent Khorne or Undivided Daemon Prince in 40k, possibly with the background of him being ‘promoted’ not from a Marine, but from a Traitor Guard or a feral world champion (similar to Mamon), thus lacking the power armor, but his scaly skin making up for that. All he needs is replacing the upper part of his head (with a very distinctive troll nose and ears) with that of a plastic Daemon Prince, complete with horns and more humanlike/demonic facial structure.

    As for the Forsaken, I, too, noticed the similarities with the old mutation sprue. I think they just make a very good box o’ bitz for spicing up Possessed and/or Spawn. A bix expensive, though, but I’d say it’s the same price as that of Possessed in the end (they are 5 in a box for ~1/2 of that price).
    And I like that they have little Chaos God marks as separate bitz! Very useful.

    Slaughterbrute / Mutalith Vortex Beast screams “Use me as a Maulerfiend!!!!”
    While the kit is wicked and loaded with cool bitz, I’d still say it’s a bit overpriced and the pose is awkward. Also, I don’t like the chitinous armor, making it look like a ‘nid.

    • You raise a couple of excellent points, so let me address them one by one:

      Interesting idea about Throgg, although I would argue that cutting off the head would take away one of the most brilliant parts of the model. I also *really* hate the plastic Daemon Prince head, so adding one of those wouldn’t help at all, in my opinion πŸ˜‰

      When it comes to Daemon Princes, I guess the Dragon Ogres would be a great start: That guy rearing back on his hind legs with the double-handed axe would make a fantastic Khornate DP with a couple of changes, don’t you think?

      Like I said above, the main problem with the Forsaken is how the mutations are always clearly limited to one body part, with the finished model always looking like a haphazard collection of OTT mutations. I would have preferred a more organic look, but I’ll readily admit that this would probably be very hard to achieve with a multipart kit.

      Agreed on the Slaughterbrute: If I ever decide to use a Maulerfiend, I will likely get one of these guys (minus the vestigiyl arms emerging from the nipples πŸ˜‰ ). I am also not too bothered about the pose: It shouldn’t be a problem as long as you only use one of the models.

      • Yes, I agree about the Dragon Ogre. A centauric/draconic Daemon Prince would be totally right, especially considering things like Pit Lords in Warcraft, which are khornate to the boot if you ask me. I also considered the Gorebeast for that purpose, as it’s less of a horse/rhino and more of an ape.

        Still, Throgg looks great beause of his pose and regal yet barbaric look. I can imagine him being a DP in an army of semi-feral, cultist-heavy CSM.

        Forsaken have the same problem as do the Possessed and Space Wolf pack. They are cool, but over the top cool.
        I always thought that the best way of assembling Posses and SW are 2-to-1 rule. 2 boxes of vanilla marine to 1 SWP, or 2 boxes of CSM to 1 Pos. So in the end each model has only 1 to 5 cool bitz, which then really stands out and makes the whole squad looking more organic and not OTT.

      • That recipe for 40k Possessed sounds about right πŸ˜‰ You could also add some Ork and Beastmen arms for added variety (and to represent more “stable” mutations). And of course, one could use parts from Daemonettes, Horrors, Bloodletters and Plaguebearers to build Possessed pledged to a special chaos god. Towards this end, the new Forsaken really aren’t all that necessary — especially at the somewhat steep price point…

Leave a Reply

