Legio Custodes – some new recruits

I’ve been doing very little painting for a while. Maybe it’s because these last few weeks have been rather stressful, maybe it’s the weather, but somehow I just didn’t feel all that inspired to paint. On the other hand, this means I had more time for a couple of conversion projects, so I sat down to build some new recruits for my small Legio Custodes force.

Kitbashing more Custodes is always really relaxing, because even though the goal I set for myself is rather special (make it look at least reasonably close to the official artwork while only using readily available GW plastic parts), it’s really all about creativity: I love to find out how all those Marine parts can be recombined and altered to make them look like something the Legio Custodes would be equipped with. Plus the very ornate look of the Custodes means I really get to go all out on those models! So what do I have to show for my troubles?

First up, I built my fifth and probably last (at least for now) Custodes Terminator. Once again, a Terminator from the Dark Vengeance box formed the base for this model. Take a look:

Flamer Termie (1)
Flamer Termie (2)
Flamer Termie (3)
Flamer Termie (4)
The left arm of the original model was cut off and replaced with a Chaos Terminator power fist. The DA torso front went into the bitzbox, and I used some (Chaos) Space Marine parts to construct a replacement. As you can see, I decided to equip this guy with a flamer, although I wanted the weapon to look a bit more like one of the “flame lances” Custodes Terminators are equipped with in some of the artwork. So I took a heavy flamer (from the Space Wolves terminators, no less), adding all kinds of bitz for decoration and lenghtening the weapon’s barrels with some plastic pipes from an old model truck kit. The muzzle was further detailed by adding a stylised eagle’s head (from the High Elf Archers). The overall idea for this conversion was once again inspired by Kaaleb Dark’s Custodes over on B&C, btw (he’s been posting new stuff too, so I recommend you check out his thread as well!).

I also build some additional models for Squad Asklepian, my squad of Custodes armoured with Astartes pattern power armour:

Characters (3)

I already posted this guy some time ago: The model is based on the DA with Plasmagun from Dark Vengeance. I used the model to build a Custodes standard bearer in older looking power armour. I may have to add some additional “bling” for decoration, though.

Here’s the guy I am really proud of:

Mk I (3)
Mk I (2)
A Custodes wearing Mk I “Thunder” armour. I got the idea for the model from Mywargame.com‘s fantastic turtorials for converting Pre Heresy armour.

The model is basically a kitbash, using a couple of different (Chaos) Space Marine parts and a Cadian head. While this guy may not be 100% accurate, I am rather fond of him. And putting him together took me only a couple of minutes! He also looks quite a bit less goofy than I imagined he would 😉

Mk I (1)
And finally, what may be my favourite conversions at the moment:

I really wanted to build a small squad of Sisters of Silence to go with my Custodes. I have no idea what I could actually play them as (although Scouts seem a reasonably good idea). Anyway, some time ago, I started fooling around with a couple of Dark Eldar Wyches and some additional bits, and here are the results of that session:

SoS (4)
SoS (3)

The base model is a Dark Eldar Wych: The legs and most female torsi from that kit are perfect for Sisters of Silence, since they look almost exactly like the artwork in the HH artbooks. If you’re going to convert your own Sisters, you also want to look for arms with puffy sleeves — but there are enough kits with useful bits (the High Elf Archers and some WFB Empire kits are great for this!). And you can splice together almost perfect heads using really old plastic Dark Eldar heads.

I also built a standard bearer, while I was at it:

SoS (1)
The standard is yet another part from the High Elf Archers, although I modified it a bit to better fit the artwork (and added a Dark Eldar back banner and an Imperial aquila).

I also built a squadleader for the Sisters of Silence very recently:

SoS (7)
SoS (5)

SoS (6)
SoS (8)
Again, the model is basically a Dark Eldar Wych with all kinds of bits added on top: I wanted her to look a bit more imosing than her squadmates, so I added a suitably impressive sword and a cloak (which I got in a bitz trade, so I can only guess that it might be from the High Elf White Lions kit). I am really quite pleased with her, to tell you the truth.

And here’s the whole squad so far:

SoS (9)
The only downside to these is that they require a prettty diverse assortment of bits, some of them (the old Dark Eldar heads) no longer readily available. Still, I think the results are rather convincing.

The only thing that worries me is that my Custodes army has moved dar beyond the scheduled frame already. But then, it’s just so much fun kitbashing these guys and girls 😉

As always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

5 Responses to “Legio Custodes – some new recruits”

  1. Simply beautiful work on both the Custodes and the SoS! Inspiring stuff, KS – can’t wait to see more of these!

  2. Lovely work. Thanks for the pingback

  3. […] very easy to use a virtually identical recipe in order to create Sisters of Silence — as I have done repeatedly for my own, kitbashed Custodes […]

Leave a Reply

