Inquisitor 28: Let’s do the twist

Mutants, also called “twists”, are a very interesting character type in the world of Inquisitor: Considered unclean and abhorrent, twists are usually ruthlessly oppressed by the paranoid and racist Imperium of Man on the basis that their outer deformities are symptoms of an inner corruption. They are often hunted and left with no alternative but to rebel or pledge themselves to the ruinous powers if they want to live, creating a bit of a catch-22 scenario. Meanwhile, the Imperium is not above using the twists as a source for cheap labour, an oppressed underclass that is exploited as much as it is reviled.

With Inquisitor set in the shadowy parts of the Imperium, it is no small wonder that any enterprising Inquisitor should find themselves among the twisted and persecuted. And what’s more: Converting twists is an awesome way of coming up with rather interesting models. So today’s part of my Inquisitor 28 Desktop Roundup will deal with a number of twists I converted.

First up, here are two guys that I built last year, a relatively short while after getting back into the hobby. I realised that I still had some pretty old models lying around, among them a couple of old Gorkamorka Orks that I had bought some time during the 90s (as a side note: Do you remember how completely spectacular those multipart Gorkamorka plastic models seemed to us back then?). Now compared with today’s muscular, hulking Ork boys, those poor sods look pretty scrawny, so I wanted to convert them into something different. Take a look:


I replaced the original Ork boy’s left arm with an arm from the Kroot kit. It looks wonderfully twisted and vestigial (and is a great part for your mutant conversion needs). I also gave the model a Laspistol from the Cadian kit and added an old WFB Chaos Warrior’s head. All of this helped in making the model look less like a scawny Ork and more like a mutant of some sort.


This guy was even easier to convert: I just replaced his head with a face from the old Chaos mutations sprue and added a few pouches. Apart from that, the model is still the same Gorkamorka Ork I built all those years ago, although the new head really manages to transform this guy.

I painted the twists’ clothes in muted greens and browns with some weathering effects thrown in, emphasising the fact that they are a rather unkempt bunch with pretty bad equipment. Still, I quite like these two. The only thing I should have done differently is the skin: I painted these before I had found a good way of painting pale, unhealthy skin and used lots of Leviathan Purple to shade theirs — that left them looking far more pinkish than I would have liked…


When I built those guys, I wanted them to serve as mutants in my Lost and the Damned force. And while that plan never quite got off the ground, they should make quite useful NPCs and underhive scum for games of INQ28 and/or Necromunda, don’t you think?

The next model I want to show you is considerably newer. I also basically stole the idea from one of PDH’s Scavvy Mutants:



Once again, this is a fairly easy kitbash, using just an AOBR Ork boss (that came as a giveaway with a copy of WD, back when 5th ed. was released) and a couple of bits. Chief among these is a head from the WFB Crypt Ghouls, which are simply fantastic conversion fodder for creating twists. This particular head was just a great fit, with a look between anger and idiocy that really helps to sell this guy as dumb muscle. Thanks, PDH!

I also added a hand from an old plastic Necromunda Goliath ganger, wielding a magnum style pistol, a brutal looking club from one of the WFB Ogre Kingdoms kits and added a spike to the stikkbomb, making it look more like yet another crude CC weapon.

When painting this guy, I went for a rather subdued palette once again, and added a ton of weathering effects. This time, I also got the skin right. Take a look:



I am quite pleased with this guy for a number of reasons: He really looks like a hulking brute and could be used as some kind of bodyguard or even as a mutant overlord. A fellow forumite remarked that the model looks quite a bit like a Super Mutant from Fallout 3, and even though I didn’t plan it that way, he was quite correct!

So let’s wind up our little school outing into the world of twists and mutants with another WIP model, in fact a conversion I have wanted to do for quite a while:

Among the original Inquisior releases was a character named “Quovandius”, a mutant saved by Inquisitor Eisenhorn and sworn to his service. The character also got a rather characterful model. Take a look.

However, there’s more: In his official artwork in the Inquisior rulebook, Quovandius looks far more bulky and fierce than his actual model, in my opinion. He also uses his shotgun as an improvised crutch, which I think was a really cool little idea.

Working at the 28mm scale, I would have to build a new model anyway, so why not build a twist that was inspired by that very artwork? Here’s what I came up with:




Again, I used the tried and true combination if an Ork body and a Crypt Ghoul head. Yet where the other head above looks rather nonplused, this guy looks fierce and determined, don’t you think? I also used an old Gorkamorka shotgun to emulate the artwork even further. It may not be the cleanest and most ambitious conversion in the world, but I think it gets the point across.

And while I was tempted to add all kinds of stuff in order to make the model look even more like the original Quovandius, I stopped myself, since I liked the rather simple, brutal expression of the model (I might have to add that puppet head, though. Such a cool little detail! I only have to find one that’s small enough).
Anyway, where the original Quovandius looks rather pitiful, I see this guy as more of a hunter, maybe even a bounty hunter, tolerated by the higher-ups because he can bring in anyone who has been hiding in the underhive…

And that’s it with my little showcase today. In closing, let me say that building twists is a great way to make something using leftover bitz as well as eclectic and seemingly disparate parts. Just remember to always have some Ork and Crypt Ghoul parts ready πŸ˜‰

As always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

7 Responses to “Inquisitor 28: Let’s do the twist”

  1. Awesome work, man! Love how how turned out – great mix of bits, they definitely are more than the sum of their parts!

  2. Incredible! They look really good.

    Could you show some pictures of the head and neck area from above? I am always a but unsure of how to make that area work with an ork conversion.

    Also, how did you paint the grey on the nob conversion’s pants? It looks very smooth.

    You’ve inspired me. I really want to go and paint some quick mutants now!

    • Thanks, Cameron!

      I don’t have a camera handy, but I have to admit that the neck area is maybe looking a little rough — that’s what you get when using a head much too small for the neck πŸ˜‰

      However, a more ambitious converter than me should be able to smooth out the transition with some careful cutting and some (liquid?) GS. And when all else fails, you can always say it’s part of the mutations — lazy excuse, I know πŸ˜‰

      The pants were really easy: I basecoated them with GW Adeptus Battlegrey, then washed them with GW Agrax Earthshade and then GW Nuln Oil. After everything was dry, I have the whole area a light drybrush with GW Graveyard Earth. That makes the pants look dirty and threadbare — just right for an “undesirable” like this mutant.

      • Thanks. I will give it a go with the old washes.

        How do you do your pale skin tone? I really like the reddish hue.

      • The recipe for the skin is actually rather easy: Basecoat with GW Dheneb Stone (or the new Rakarth Flesh), wash liberally with GW Ogryn Flesh (managed to stock up on that one, fortunately πŸ˜‰ ), accentuate as needed with the original Dheneb Stone or with a “healthier” skin colour — DONE!

        For mutants, chaos followers or biomechanical constructs, you can go a step further and add a mix of Leviathan Purple and Baal Red into recesses, scars etc. to represent bruising. You can also use a thinned down dark blue to add veins beneath the seemingly translucent skin — the actual challenge is to know when to stop πŸ˜‰

  3. […] not to regular readers of this fine blog: It’s a model I already showed you twice: Once as an unpainted WIP and once during the later painting […]

Leave a Reply

