Birth of a Chaos Dread Reloaded, pt. 4

Once again, a Chaos Dread is nearing completion. To celebrate the occasion, let’s have a huuuge post with lots of pretty pictures! This time on Birth of a Chaos Dread Reloaded, we take a look at the finished model.

Having painted my first Dread a short time ago, I was positively surprised by the experience. The larger scale compared to regular 40k infantry made for much smoother sailing, while working in multiple sub-assemblies wasn’t nearly as exhausting as expected. So I had already developed some kind of routine before tackling my second Dread.

I started by laying down an undercoat of GW Chaos Black spraypaint. The lower body, upper body and weapon options were sprayed while the model was still disassembled, so I could be sure to get paint in all the little nooks and crannies. Also, as a first for me, I actually glued the different weapons to leftover pieces of sprue for easier access during spraying and painting.

With undercoating out of the way, I started on the actual paintjob. The base and lower body came first. Then I painted the upper body, the only complication being that I had elected to permanently attach the left arm before painting. But fortunately, everything worked out okay.


Here’s the completed Dread with just the weapon arm missing. Special care was giving to the pilot’s desiccated and ruined features. Yeah, I know, I probably need professional attention…

I then completed all of the weapons in two shorter sittings. Since I had resisted the temptation of glueing everything together beforehand, painting all the different parts was easy enough. Here’s what I came up with:

First up, the Lascannon:


Next, the Plasma Cannon (using the same arm, as previously mentioned):




I couldn’t resist painting a simple OSL effect on the plasma coils. It’s pretty subtle and not all that spectacular really, but I like it enough that the Plasma Cannon is now my favourite from a visual standpoint, even though I usually go for another option when I am actually using the model in games.

Next in line, the Heavy Bolter:




I’m a little ashamed to admit that the barrels have not yet been drilled out – there simply wasn’t a drill bit of the right size available. I guess I’ll have to get that fixed sooner rather than later though, since the black dots look even more silly due to the size of the weapon…

And finally, the Autocannon:





I am quite pleased with this one actually, considering it was the most involved conversion of the bunch. It looks suitably brutal and effective, doesn’t it?

And with that, my second Chaos Dread was finished. Here he is once again in all his glory:

In the photo, the model is equipped with the Plasma Cannon. The additional weapons are (from left to right): Lascannon, Heavy Bolter and Autocannon. The facemask can also be taken off.

All in all, I am very pleased with this guy. He turned out just like I had imagined, plus he makes an awesome companion piece for my other Dread. Speaking of which…

The true genius of this conversion is that Marax the Fallen can also profit from the additional weapon options. Take a look:


Since the model was planned with the dual CCW’s firmly in mind, I was a little hesitant to give him a different armament. But I have to say he looks just as pissed off with an Autocannon, don’t you think?

Anyway, those guys really add a lot of firepower and character to the 4th assault company. And it was a lot of fun to build and paint them. I could easily see myself completing an army consisting solely of Dreads…go figure.

As always, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

2 Responses to “Birth of a Chaos Dread Reloaded, pt. 4”

  1. Nice ! The autocanon and the plasma are really good, congrats ! I do prefer the dread without its mask, seeing the pilot is more impressive !

    • Merci beaucoup, ondskapt 😉

      To tell you the truth, I also like the “true” head a lot. But it still makes a lot of sense for the Dread to be wearing that mask from time to time. Otherwise, he’d be pretty vulnerable 😉

Leave a Reply

