Birth of a Chaos Dread Reloaded, pt. 2

Last time on Birth of a Chaos Dread Reloaded, we looked at my inability to guess the correct size for my Dreadnought’s head. Fortunately, that issue has been resolved, and so this instalment of my ongoing series can focus on finalising the models pose and building and detailing the body. Enjoy!

After deciding on a pose and overall look for the Dread, the only thing left for completing the main body was to tidy up the conversion work  and to add some suitable bits to achieve the chaos look I wanted. Here’s what I ended up with:

Fortunately, the Venerable Dread kit is chock-full of different options – not only for the weapons but also for the sarcophagus, the shoulders, shinguards, armour plates etc. I added a couple of plates which I decorated with Chaos stars. The shinguards were also “chaosified”. After some thinking, I decided to do away with the armoured gorget since I really liked the look of the orginial Chaos Space Marine’s torso wired into the machine. I kept the halo-like trophy rack from the Chaos vehicle sprue, but decided to use a different variant. The sandbag placeholder was replaced with a skeleton. I know it’s fairly unrealistic that a mere skeleton should resist the weight of the Dread’s leg, and it also doesn’t make that much sense in the first place, but it looked cool enough, so I kept it.

Like I already said, I wanted to change the pose of the left arm to break up the silhouette of the model a bit. I used all kinds of cables and machine bits to detail the joint between the torso and left arm of the Dread. While I was once again tempted to use chainblade fingers, the Pre-Heresy-style powerfist was just too cool to pass over. The flamer was a must though, even though a Bolter might have made slightly more sense for a shooty Dread.

I also added a skull-and-chain combo to the reactor on the back of the model. I didn’t use any dragon heads as muzzles for the exhaust pipes this time around, since that would probably have looked a little silly with four pipes in place. As a final touch, I used a leftover skeleton head as a head for the Dread pilot. I made sure to use a head that looked properly damaged and disfigured. I like the idea that you’ll be able to take of the larger skull mask to look at the Marine’s “true” face underneath.

And with that, the body was basically finished. All that was left to do was to build and detail the different weapon options. Like I said, the Venerable Dread kit offers lots of choices in this regard and comes with a Lascannon, Plasma Cannon and Assault cannon that can be easily exchanged, even on the finished model. I wanted to keep the Las and Plasma, but replace the Assault cannon with an older looking twin-linked Autocannon. And I would definitely need a Heavy Bolter as well. Fortunately, I still had some leftover parts from the Furioso Kit, so it was all just a matter of kitbashing and careful cutting. But that is a story for next time.

Until then, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

Next on Birth of a Chaos Dread Reloaded: the weapons.

2 Responses to “Birth of a Chaos Dread Reloaded, pt. 2”

  1. Looking good! The pose is menacing and the repositioned left arm looks ace. Keep up the great work!

    • Thanks man, that’s good to hear! I just got quite an earful on a German forum about how horrible that arm looks. Can’t win them all, I suppose 😉

Leave a Reply

