Birth of a Chaos Dread Reloaded, pt.1

Building and painting my first Chaos Dread was really a lot of fun, and I am still very pleased with the result. And that is precisely the reason why I really wanted to build a second one right after the first one was finished. Well, that and the fact that I lack any sort of impulse control, but that’s another story…

So here we goe again: Join me for the second season of “Birth of a Chaos Dread”. I promise it’ll be fun (at least for me…).

Once again, I had a couple of things I wanted to achieve when building the model:

  • again, I wanted to avoid the refridgerator look as much as possible
  • this second Dread was going to be a lot shootier than the first (who totally focused on CC). I felt that the plastic Venerable Dreadnought kit was the way to go here, considering all the weapon options included.
  • I really, REALLY wanted to use this head for my Dread:

The big question in order to find out if you are as much of a nerd as I am: Does anyone recognise this? Then go on and drop me a comment. I’ll be waiting 😉

Anyway, I thought that it would be really cool to feature a part of one of my old toys in a conversion. Plus I think the head has a bit of a resemblance with the head from the original FW World Eaters Dread. But that might just be my imagination. In any case, I liked the slightly inhuman look created by the single eyeslit, a bit like this.

So I immediately bought the Dread kit, hurried home, broke out my knife and yellow-tac and made a mockup of the thing. Here’s what I got:

As much as I love the head, there was no getting around the fact that it was simply too big: It did not fit between the shoulders, like I had intended it to, so it was left facing slightly downwards. And with such a large head, the Dread looked somewhat misshapen – and not in a good way. So, with a heavy heart, I discarded the head that had inspired the whole conversion in the first place. Don’t feel bad for it, though: One day, its moment of glory will come. For example, if I ever do a Dreadknight conversion, then…no!…must…resist…temptation…

Fortunately, there was a good alternative: I still had some leftover parts from my Defiler conversion, and my fellow Khornate slaughterers Doombreed and Guitarasmus turned out to be very inspirational with their own Dreads. So I got to work again and ended up with this:

Much better! While this version is maybe less original, the head just fits better with the rest of the body. I changed the position of the left arm to give the model a more interesting silhouette (and to make it look like it was celebrating a successfully destroyed enemy vehicle or something like that). I also wanted the Dread to be standing on something with his left foot, so I used a sandbag as a placeholder. A stylised maw from the Ogre kingdoms was once again used to represent the World Eaters legion badge.

While there was some detailing left to do, I felt that this worked as a basic pose. However, in contrast to my CC Dread, a bit of thought would be necessary to figure out how to best build the different weapon options and give them the “Chaos treatment”…

Next time on Birth of a Chaos Dread Reloaded: the details. Until then, thanks for looking and stay tuned for more!

2 Responses to “Birth of a Chaos Dread Reloaded, pt.1”

  1. That is the head of Cobra operative and boxing enthusiast, Big Boa.

    Fantastic blog. I’ve been dipping my toes back into the world of Inquisimunda, and your blog has been a great inspiration.

Leave a Reply

