Marax the Fallen: Birth of a Chaos Dread, pt.2

This series of posts chronicles my first Chaos Dread conversion. Last time on “Birth of a Chaos Dread”, we looked at my initial prototype. This time, we’ll take a look at the finished pose of the model.

So I knew that I wanted the dread to look like it was screaming in rage. While the first version of the pose definitely achieved this, it made the connection between torso and lower body look somewhat funny. So I readjusted the model’s pose to be a bit more crouched:

I also added a couple of bits to achieve the typical chaos look: a pair of dragon heads from the chaos vehicle sprue, a small Khorne icon and two shields from some OOP Warriors of Chaos. And the spine of an old Fantasy skeleton horse. I have absolutely no idea where the skullchain dangling between the Dread’s legs originally came from, but it looked cool, so I used it too.

I also decided to use the original lightning claws instead of chainblades. Their shorter length resulted in the model looking far more balanced.

All that remained were a couple of minor tweaks. I filed off all the remaining Blood Angels iconography, and the model was finished for priming.

So, what do you think? Cool mini or not? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Next time on “Birth of a Chaos Dread”: the paintjob.

2 Responses to “Marax the Fallen: Birth of a Chaos Dread, pt.2”

  1. OK i know how Odin is the god of war and marax is a type of demon god (i think). i named my son “Odin Marax” what would that mean together?

Leave a Reply

