Back on plastic: How everything started.

On December 24th 2010, cousin Andy gave me a box of Chaos Space Marines for Christmas. It all went downhill from there…

…actually, no. That’s not true. The true start of everything was another Christmas in the early 90s (I forgot the exact year), when I received my copy of Hero Quest. Much has been written about the formative nature this game’s had for many-a-nerd, so I need not elaborate. Suffice to say that the miniatures included with the game simply blew my mind at the time. It was the same with Space Crusade (released as “StarQuest” in my little part of the world) and with the first Warhammer and Warhammer 40k models I ever saw. Fast forward a few years, to the mid- to late-90s, when I had begun to dabble in Warhammer Fantasy and 40k alike and had a small but completely painted force of Chaos Warriors and a considerably larger (and considerably better painted) force of Dark Eldar under my belt – along with the unpainted detritus that every wargamer tends to accumulate along the way.

Still, all was not well: The Dark Eldar I had so painstakingly converted and painted (back then, you basically had to convert the hell out of the available plastics if you wanted your army to look at least halfway presentable) proved to be GW’s unloved bastard child. So I jumped ship and began to collect a small force of Chaos Space Marines. I had always loved chaos in general and the Blood God Khorne in particular, and so I was drawn to the World Eaters legion pretty fast. The availability of then fairly recent Khorne Berserker plastics helped as well, so I began to amass a small but potent force of crazed madmen.

But then I hit a wall again: Back in those days, a lot of the range was still metal and thus fairly expensive. And there was no way I was shelling out all of my pocket money for a box of chaos terminators, raptors or what have you. So my interest in the world of tabletop gaming slowly began to dwindle as other, less obstinate activities (music, videogames and parties) began to take over. I kept my White Dwarf subscription, however, and frequently felt the pull of new releases – but never enough to jump back in.

What I didn’t know, though, was that while I wasn’t looking, my cousin Andy had gotten into 40k big time: He learned pretty much all the rules by heart, bought a metric ton of different GW-models and became somewhat of a lower case celebrity in his FLGS for sticking to the criminally undersupported Dark Eldar and winning his fair share of games with them to boot.

During all that time, he tried to get me back on board with 40k and it was the release of the new Dark Eldar in late 2010 that did it. I bought my first box of plastics in a decade and suffered what was for all intents and purposes, a relapse.

Cue cousin Andy and his Christmas present: While the new Dark Eldar were fantastic models in their own right, they weren’t quite as much fun to convert as my old World Eaters had been. So the box of Chaos Space marines was cracked open on the same night I got it, and I haven’t looked back since.

Now it’s early 2012 and I have accumulated a World Eaters force of about 3500-4000 points along with a rather large collection of DIY terrain and a couple of side projects. And while I loathe the fact that getting back into tabletop wargaming has proved to be a continued strain on my wallet (as well as on my nearly inexistent self-control), it has also been, and continues to be, a fantastic creative outlet.

And what better way to share this creativity with others than to create another blog that no one is ever going to read?

But seriously: If you have found this and are interested, I promise that I’ll try to showcase my work here for the world to appreciate (or hate). Some of it might prove interesting. Feel free to steal any idea you like for your own projects – I do it all the time 😉  And don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

Thanks for reading and stay tuned. There’ll be more shortly…

5 Responses to “Back on plastic: How everything started.”

  1. Hi, nice read, would love to see your designs in the coming days.

  2. stalkingvengeance Says:

    Seems your cousin Andy is quite the drug dealer. 😉

    Anyway, i’m lookin’ forward to see your projects.

  3. […] believe I did repeatedly mention my cousin Andy. You may remember that he was the one dragging me back into all of this in the first place with a seemingly innocent Christmas present. I also cited his Dark Eldar army as […]

Leave a Reply

